Kids in the Sink

Brussel Sprouts Grilled Cheese

on January 16, 2013

brusselgrilledcheese3

I don’t like brussels sprouts.  Wrong.  I used to not like brussels sprouts.  These days, it is really very seriously competing for first place for my favorite vegetable.  It all started with this brussels sprout crostini.  My world was forever changed.  This grilled cheese, though, has even topped that amazing appetizer.

I got it.  You’re still stuck on the fact that we put brussels sprouts in a grilled cheese.  You’re still stuck on how everyone uses brussels sprouts as the example of the most detestable vegetable you could ever be asked to try.  The vegetable that kids shudder at.  Wrong.  All wrong.  The likelihood that you, too, would enjoy brussels sprouts in a chopped and sauteed fashion is pretty high.  In fact, I convinced my mom to try this sandwich even though she had strong opinions about them originally.  Strong, negative opinions, that is.  One bite and she was a convert.  This is the woman that often refuses to try foods that she previously disliked, because she’s just that sure that she won’t like it now.  I love my mom.  My hard-headed mom.  And I made her love a new vegetable!  I’m done trying to convince you.  I’m moving on. Jump on board or get off the train.  What does that even mean in a food blog context?

brusselgrilledcheese1

Crusty bread, salty butter, melted cheese, and tangy balsamic vinegar.  This might be what my heaven looks like.  Seriously. I want to eat it every day. I bought two pounds of brussels sprouts yesterday and I have three loaves of English Muffin Bread (I know, yet another shameless plug for this bread of ours but it is the best crusty bread for toasted sandwiches!) in the freezer and I’m ready to hunker down and eat me some veggie-stuffed grilled cheese.  Oh, and just let me add this, the sauteed brussels sprouts with a few shakes of balsamic vinegar are great on their own.  So, if I were you, and I have definitely been you, I would make extra and eat and/or serve them as a side dish because they reheat fantastically!  I dare you to not fall in love with this vegetable.

-Melissa

brusselgrilledcheese2

Brussel Sprouts Grilled Cheese

Ingredients:

1/2 pound brussels sprouts, stems removed and chopped or shredded
2 tbsp olive oil
2 garlic cloves, minced
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
balsamic vinegar to taste
12 ounces of havarti cheese, shredded or sliced (I’ve also used provolone and tuscano with great results)
8 slices crusty bread bread
softened butter for spreading

Directions:

  1. Heat a large pan over medium heat and add olive oil.  Saute minced garlic for about 30 seconds and then add in brussels sprouts.  Season with salt and pepper and cook for about 5-6 minutes, until brussels sprouts are wilting and turning golden brown. Remove from pan and set aside.
  2. Return the pan to the burner over medium low heat.  Butter each slice of bread on one side and place butter-side down in the pan.  Top with cheese, brussels sprouts, balsamic vinegar, and more cheese.  Top with another slice of buttered side up bread.
  3. Cook each side until golden brown and serve hot.  And be ready for your opinions of brussels sprouts to be totally changed forever.  And ever.  Amen.

Source: How Sweet Eats


One response to “Brussel Sprouts Grilled Cheese

  1. I’m slowly coming around to sprouts too…. This looks fantastic and something I’m definitely going to have to try!! YUM!

Leave a comment