Kids in the Sink

Donut Muffins

on January 15, 2013

donutmuffins3 I got a doughnut pan for Christmas.  I actually got like sooooooooooooo many wonderful kitchen things for Christmas.  I got a square brownie pan, mini bundt pan, awesome knives, a fancy metal/magnetic bar thingy for the knives, a mini doughnut pan, vanilla paste, whole wheat pastry flour, a jumbo cookie scoop… the list goes on and on.  My family loves me.  Wow, what a tangent.  I’m so good for those.  I was blessed beyond belief with kitchen things (and otherwise) at Christmas.  Enough about that.

donutmuffins1

The whole point in telling you that I got a doughnut pan was to let you know that after that, I went on a doughnut pinning frenzy.  Like with a dozen new recipes of baked doughnuts galore.  That’s why it’s kind of ironic that I’m bringing you a muffin that is reminiscent of a doughnut.  I found this recipe a long time ago, back when I was all, “man, I wish I had a doughnut pan.  Since I don’t, let me make a muffin that tastes like one.”  You can probably relate to that because not everyone has a doughnut pan, ya know? You should get one, just because they’re awesome and make such a quick prep for breakfast or snack.  But if you don’t have one, you can totally make these muffins and trick your stomach into thinking you do.

-Melissa

donutmuffins2

Glazed Doughnut Muffins

Ingredients:

For the muffins:

1/4 cup butter
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/3 cup brown sugar
2 large eggs
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp ground nutmeg, to taste
1 tsp cinnamon
3/4 tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla
2 2/3 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup milk

For the glaze:

3 tbsp melted butter
1 1/2 cup confectioners’ sugar
3/4 tsp vanilla
2 tbsp hot water

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees and line a muffin tin with cupcake liners and spray thhttp://www.closetcooking.com/e liners with cooking spray to ensure the muffins come out easily.
  2. In the bowl of your stand mixer or a medium mixing bowl, cream together the butter, oil, and sugars until light and fluffy.
  3. Add eggs and beat until well combined. Mix in the baking powder, baking soda, nutmeg, cinnamon, salt, and vanilla.
  4. Stir in half of the flour, then milk, then the other half of the flour and stir until just combined.
  5. Evenly distribute into the muffin tin.  Each cup will be almost full.  Bake for 15-17 minutes, or until a toothpick placed in the center of the muffins comes out clean.
  6. While the muffins are baking, whisk together the ingredients of the glaze until smooth.
  7. Once muffins are mostly cooled (about 10-15 minutes), dip each muffin into glaze and wait for glaze to harden.  If desired, you may glaze muffins twice.  The glaze is super delicious so you may want to do that, if you have the patience and will powder to wait long enough.

Source: My Baking Addiction

Leave a Reply

