Kids in the Sink

Healthy No-Bake Energy Bites and a Comeback

on May 29, 2015

DSCN8816

Hey Guys! It’s been a minute or two (years) since we last talked! How are you all!? So much has changed since the last post. Our family has been through difficult losses, yet we have also seen numerous blessings. Since this blog died out, it has always been something I have thought about in the back of my mind. I missed the cooking, baking, recipe trying and the taking 10,000 pictures to get 3 that I deemed usable.

After the dream team, i.e. Melissa and Heather, moved away from one another, continuing the blog was a challenge. Eventually, we just stopped posting altogether. But after some cajoling from my husband, I decided to give it another try. And a simple start needs a simple recipe. Enter Healthy No-Bake Energy Bites. These little bites are packed with tons of flavor, full of good stuff that keeps you going, and the best part is they are loved by kids and adults alike! These babies are naturally sweetened with honey, no artificial sweeteners here, and the oats, peanut butter, and other goodies leave you feeling full with just a small bite. I love to pack these in lunchboxes to make sure my boy can get through the school day (Yes, he is in school. Rising Kindergarteners, where you at!?) or for an in-between-meals snack. They are easy, quick, and delicious!

DSCN8826

P.S. If there are any of you out there that still read this ol’ blog, leave me some comment love and let me know I’m not alone in this great big world wide internet! I would love to hear back from you guys and see if you are still interested in Kids in the Sink!!!

-Heather

DSCN8876

Healthy No-Bake Energy Bites

Ingredients:

1 cup old-fashioned oats

1/4 cup ground flaxseed

1/4 cup almonds, chopped*

2 tbsp chia seeds*

1/8 tsp cinnamon

pinch of salt

1/4 cup + 2 tbsp creamy peanut butter

1/4 cup + 2 tbsp honey

1/4 tsp vanilla

2 tbsp chocolate chips

Directions:

In a large bowl, stir together oats, almonds, flaxseed, chia seeds, cinnamon and salt.

Melt peanut butter and allow it to cool slightly (You can do this in the microwave, but for those cavemen like myself who don’t own one, the stove top works just fine!), then stir in the honey and vanilla until combined. Pour the wet ingredients over the oat mixture and mix well with a spoon. When the mixture starts to stick together, fold in the chocolate chips.

Using a cookie scoop, (Or your hands) scoop out and roll into golf-ball sized balls. These will keep sealed at room temperature, but they are best right out of the fridge!

*Note: I only had pecans at the time, so that’s what I used. Use whatever nuts you have on hand!

I didn’t actually have chia seeds when I made these, but I usually make them with them. They are full of fiber, protein,      and omegas! A little goes a long way and really packs a punch as far as nutrition is concerned, so I totally recommend investing in them!

Source: One of my ALL time favorite blogs, How Sweet Eats


5 responses to “Healthy No-Bake Energy Bites and a Comeback

  1. lisacrafty says:

    Yes! I’m still here! I’ve checked back occasionally to see if I wasn’t getting the subscribed emails! Glad you are well! Is Melissa still with her husband? I know they were going thru a rough patch and I was praying for them. Thanks for the recipe, looks yummy, gonna try 🙂 xo, be blessed!

    • Heather says:

      Thanks so much! There have been some difficulties and continued prayers are definitely needed! We’re so blessed to have people like you praying for someone you’ve never met! Thank you so much!

  2. Laura Willard says:

    Welcome back! I just got this is my inbox and was happy to see a new post :). I’m inspired to try these with my kids!

  3. Paula says:

    Welcome back! how exciting!! I’ve been gearing up behind the scenes for a re-launch at All Things Moms too! Yay for new beginnings!

Leave a comment