Kids in the Sink

White Cheese Dip

on December 12, 2012

dip1

Have you ever dreamed about food? Like really dreamed about it.  For two nights in a row.  Where every time you woke up in the night, you had to figure out exactly how many hours until you could finally consume whatever food it is you’re dreaming of.  Well, that is how this dip happened to me.

Remember a few days ago when we told you we got together to enjoy copious amounts of food in the name of the blog?  Well, this dip is another fabulous creation that came out of that day.  But two nights before that, I had vivid dreams of drippy, cheesy goodness.  It was almost too much to handle.  I was excited to spend a day and a night with my best friend but I was maybe just as excited about the cheese.  Since the dreams started on Friday, I had kind of a long way to go until Sunday.  In fact, let me share with you how long I still had to go.

dip4

Heather came to town because she was attending a Christmas party with her family and asked me to watch the kids Saturday night.  Sure! No problem, right?  If you guys remember, for an entire year, Heather watched my kids for me while I was gone to work for 4 hours during the day.  She started when Kale was 4 months old and Ella was only ONE month old.  Crazy woman that she is, she dug it.  She was into the insane, screaming ridiculousness that four children, ages 2 and under bring to the table.  My. Best. Friend.  She’s good. I, on the other hand, am not that good.  I’m ok with mine, but add two more to the mix and I’m in over my head.  Don’t let me forget to mention, also, that the two youngest, Kale and Ella, are now both into scaling furniture, jumping off whatever they can find, and just basically getting into any kind of shenanigans they can find.  Oh, and then there are Pilot and Bailey (now almost 3 and 4, respectively).  You would think they were pretty self sufficient, right?  Wrong.  Big, fat wrong.  Pilot, is newly potty trained and Bailey is (and always has been) an overly emotional, often irrational little girl.  Put those two together, who have basically grown up as siblings, and you get one big screaming “MINE!” match, and maybe a certain little boy peeing in the backyard.

dip2

To say that I love these children, all of them, would be a drastic understatement.  I, though, am not cut out for the four of them alone.  Half way through the evening, I texted Heather to tell her I would be having a large glass of wine after the kids went to bed. Don’t judge, dudes.  Don’t judge.  You weren’t there.  So what kept me going?  What kept me from throwing myself off a bridge, you ask?  The thought of a big glass of wine giant bowl of cheese dip that I knew I would be able to consume the next day.  Yep, that was enough.  So maybe you have a big term paper due, or a giant work project deadline, or even a holiday party you’re dreading attending (what? It can’t just be me).  As a gift to yourself, make this dip and eat it.  And make sure you have someone to share it with because otherwise, that could be problematic.

-Melissa

dip3

White Cheese Dip

Ingredients:

1 pint grape tomatoes, sliced in half
1 tsp olive oil
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
1 1/2 (12 ounces) blocks cream cheese, at room temperature
8 ounces mozzarella cheese, freshly shredded
8 ounces provolone cheese, freshly shredded
1/4 cup finely grated parmesan cheese
4 garlic cloves, minced
1/4 cup basil pesto
1/2 tsp ground thyme
1/2 tsp dried oregano

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees and line a baking sheet with aluminum foil.  Place sliced tomatoes on prepared sheet and toss with olive oil, salt and pepper.  Roast for 20-25 minutes.  Remove from oven and set aside.
  2. Meanwhile, stir together the cream cheese, mozzarella, provolone, and parmesan cheese in a large bowl.  Stir in garlic, pesto, thyme and oregano and mix well to combine.  Stir in roasted tomatoes, gently.
  3. Pour mixture into a baking dish and bake for 25-30 minutes, or until the cheese is melted and bubbling.
  4. Serve hot with crackers, tortilla chips, or toasted baguettes.

Source: How Sweet It Is

One response to “White Cheese Dip

  1. […] think yes. People will be pleasantly surprised that there are actual veggies in it rather than just cheese and bread.  Not that there’s anything wrong with cheese and bread.  At […]

Leave a Reply

