Kids in the Sink

Faith Friday + Candy Cookie Pizza Just Because

on December 7, 2012

candypizza1Last Sunday, I was sitting in church, minding my own business, trying to get my God on, when God got all.up.in.my.face.

In a bad kinda good way. You know; the kind of way where He reveals something to you that you really didn’t want to hear, but you needed to hear, but it was hard to hear so really you would’ve rather not heard it, but it’s good that you did? Yeah. That kind.

It started with 2 Peter 3 and there were a couple things that really made me stop and shudder at how I act towards God, like, daily. And then immediately want to get on my knees in repentance.

8 But do not forget this one thing, dear friends: With the Lord a day is like a thousand years, and a thousand years are like a day. 9 The Lord is not slow in keeping his promise, as some understand slowness. Instead he is patient with you, not wanting anyone to perish, but everyone to come to repentance. (2 Peter 3: 8-9)

The Lord is not slow in keeping his promise, as some understand slowness. Wow. What is your definition of slowness? Because in this fast-paced world, I know mine is very different from God’s. To me, an hour can drag on forever. Waiting can feel like torture. But to the Lord, he’s barely blinked. He doesn’t see time the way we do, friends. We can’t understand all of the wonders and mysteries of Him, heavenly time being one of those things. I have said it before and I’ll say it again: i.am.not.patient. It is something I am constantly struggling with and something I wish I would get, because I am tired of lessons in patience. And so often I go to God, angry, asking why my prayers haven’t been answered. Why hasn’t He heard me? Why isn’t He talking back? Why isn’t He doing something?! How self-righteous that sounds to me as I type. How selfish. But praise God because of the second part of those verses. He is patient with us, so that all may come to repentance.

candypizza2

He could destroy us now. I could shout and complain and sin and He could destroy me instantly. I certainly deserve it. But He doesn’t. He is patient with me, allowing me to learn and bend and mold into the person He wants me to be. Allowing me to repent. Giving me that opportunity. The opportunity to once again, fall down on my knees and throw up my hands and say I am sorry. I am sorry. Minute after minute, hour after hour, day after day. He is patient where I am not. He is loving where I do not deserve it. His days are short where mine are long, but it is ALL FOR ME. And when I say me, I don’t mean me. This is for us. This is for everyone. So that everyone comes to repentance.

14 So then, dear friends, since you are looking forward to this, make every effort to be found spotless, blameless and at peace with him. 15 Bear in mind that our Lord’s patience means salvation, just as our dear brother Paul also wrote you with the wisdom that God gave him. (2 Peter 3: 14-15)

Our Lord is patient so that we may have salvation. He is withholding His wrath from us when we do not deserve it. He has the power to destroy with the mere blink of an eye. But He doesn’t! So what can we do to thank Him? What does He want us to do? How does He yearn for us to live? His wish for us is clear. He wants us to be at peace. To be blameless, spotless. He is there waiting with arms open wide to cover us in grace and mercy and love over and over again until He calls us all home. When we run to Him in repentance, He gives us peace. It is His promise to us. Don’t squander that precious gift. Run to Him. Lean on Him. Repent. He doesn’t work on our timetable, because our timetable is flawed. But His is always perfect. Always.

-Heather

Candy Cookie Pizza

Ingredients:

For the cake:

1 roll (16.5 oz) of sugar cookie dough
1/4 cup m&m’s
1/2 cup coarsely broken pretzels
20 fun sized candy bars, cut into fourths (about 2 cups)
1/4 cup chocolate chips, melted

For the frosting:

8 ounces cream cheese, softened
1/4 cup butter, softened
2 1/2 powdered sugar
1 tsp vanilla

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and grease a 12 inch pizza pan.  Roll out the cookie dough into a large circle.  Bake for 25-30 minutes until golden brown.  Let cool completely.
  2. While cookie pizza crust is baking, make frosting.  Cream together cream cheese and butter for a few minutes until light and fluffy.  Add powdered sugar and vanilla and beat for several minutes until nice and creamy. Set aside.
  3. When cookie pizza crust is completely cool, spread frosting onto crust.  Sprinkle with broken pretzels and chopped candy bars.  Drizzle melted chocolate over finished product and serve chilled or at room temperature.

Source: adapted from Pillsbury

Leave a Reply

