Kids in the Sink

Parmesan Brussels Sprouts Crostini

on December 5, 2012

bruscrostini3

Oh friends.  Brussels sprouts are gross, huh?  I (Melissa) tried to like them.  I really, really did.  They were another thing I never ate growing up.  So then I grew up and I was a foodie.  And my foodie friend and fellow blogger, Heather, tried to tell me how good they were.  So a few times, we roasted them with some balsamic vinegar (which normally, I love) and it was only meh. I didn’t love it.  I hardly even liked it.  I wouldn’t make it again. And that’s saying a lot because roasted vegetables make my world right.  I just didn’t like them.

Then this past weekend happened.  Heather and I got together and we actually planned the month of blog posts.  Gasp. We were organized. It felt good.  And since we were together, like old times, we decided to make a bunch of appetizers all on one random Sunday afternoon, take pics, and eat entirely too much cheese.  It was a good day.  I decided to give brussels sprouts one more chance.  A recipe I had seen piqued my interest.  It involves bread, roasted garlic, and cheese.  That’s kinda hard to screw up, if you ask us.

We got to work right after church making these little babies and I was excited about it because the day before, I had roasted the garlic and couldn’t wait to dig into it!  Poor Heather was busy taking pictures and I was so seriously addicted after one little bite, that I couldn’t stop.  Heather is slaving away behind the camera and I’m all, “Oh my gosh!!!! I love brussels sprouts! I can’t stop.  Ohhhhh friend.  Eat this!”  It was probably quite a sight to see.  And she might have hated me for enjoying it before she could.  Although, I did try to pop one into her mouth while she was still shooting, but she couldn’t enjoy it or focus on it’s wonderful-ness.

bruscrostini2

Friends… don’t be a brussels sprouts hater.  Don’t remember those nasty, slimy(?), steamed little green balls your mom used to serve you when you were a kid.  Eat these, instead.  Be a lover of brussels sprouts. A brussels sprouts convert, if you will.  I’m serious. Take it from a former brussels sprouts hater!

Oh, and one more thing.  Just to let you guys know, this month on the blog we’ll be featuring a bunch of appetizer recipes.  Our Faith Friday’s will continue to be sweets but we figured since everyone else is doing mostly sweets this month, we’d switch it up, turn the blog world on it’s ear, and do savory appetizers. Because guys, you need something to take to those holiday parties.  So, stick around because it’s about to get sooooooo good.

-Heather and Melissa

bruscrostini1

Parmesan Brussels Sprouts Crostini

Ingredients:

4 bulbs garlic
1 large baguette
4 tbsp olive oil, divided
1 pound brussels sprouts, sliced or shredded
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
pinch of nutmeg
2 tbsp freshly grated parmesan cheese
shaved parmesan cheese for topping

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.  Cut off the top portion of the garlic bulb to reveal the cloves.  Rub away as much of the paper from the cloves as possible and drizzle a couple teaspoons of olive oil onto each bulb.  Let sit for 10 minutes, while oven preheats.  Wrap bulbs tightly in foil and place in a baking dish for about 45 minutes, or until garlic is roasted and golden brown.  Let cool completely and start working on the rest of the dish.
  2. Slice baguette into thin slices and bake in preheated oven for about 10 minutes, until crisp.
  3. While the bread is toasting and the garlic is cooling, bring the remaining olive oil to medium heat in a large skillet.  Add brussels sprouts, salt, pepper, and nutmeg and toss it all together to coat.  Cook for 7-8 minutes, stirring and tossing frequently, until slightly browned and wilted.
  4. Remove from heat and stir in grated parmesan, until well combined.
  5. At this point, the garlic should be cool enough to handle. Unwrap foil packet and pinch out the bulbs into a bowl.  Mash roasted garlic with a fork until it resembles a paste.
  6. Spread a little bit of smashed garlic onto each toasted baguette slice and top with cooked brussels sprouts.  Top with freshly shaved parmesan slices and serve.

Source: How Sweet It Is

2 responses to “Parmesan Brussels Sprouts Crostini

  1. […] a few days ago when we told you we got together to enjoy copious amounts of food in the name of the blog?  Well, […]

  2. […] very seriously competing for first place for my favorite vegetable.  It all started with this brussels sprout crostini.  My world was forever changed.  This grilled cheese, though, has even topped that amazing […]

Leave a Reply

