Kids in the Sink

Spinach & Potato Hash with Eggs Sunny-Side Up

on November 28, 2012

Hey guys. Are you five pounds heavier, too? Yeah, me either too.

You know what the best part about Thanksgiving is besides the turkey and family dysfunction donotdenyityouKNOWyouhaveittoo? No, it’s not the leftovers, although I too enjoy not having to cook for a month after, and it’s not the sweet potato casserole, although ours is pretty tight.

Let me just tell you guys what I’m dealing with over here. It’s really an act of God that you get a blog from me at all. Every other word, I am fighting off a child who is trying very hard to make it to the computer and destroy everything I’m working on. Sometimes, they win.

No. It’s the desserts. The chance to make desserts that are really bad for you and the opportunity to share them with others so that you don’t have to eat a whole pan of brownies yourself so that, ya know, they don’t go to waste. Wait, what?

And desserts are my Thanksgiving thing. It’s what I do since I don’t actually host a Thanksgiving and I may have a teeny problem making enough desserts for a family gathering of 30 when I only have a family gathering of 9. Whatever. It means I get to take home a lot of leftovers, including desserts.

So, here’s the deal. I may have almost single-handedly polished off 9/10 of the desserts that we brought back home. In, like, a day. But I mean, I wouldn’t want them to go to waste. Feel me? So, instead of eating brownies for lunch, I’ve been making this hash and oh.man.loving.it. You can pretty much throw any leftover potatoes and veggies that you have lying around and make it into a delicious and much better for you than brownies lunch or dinner. It’s a relatively easy and quick meal that will leave you feeling full and with the ability to resist that last pecan pie bar.

Maybe.

-Heather

Spinach & Potato Hash with Eggs Sunny-Side Up
Serves 1

Ingredients:

2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil, divided.
2 cloves garlic, minced
1-1 1/2 cups various types of potatoes, cut into 1-inch pieces (Just use whatever you have lying around.)
1/2 red pepper, cut into strips
1/4 tsp cayenne, more or less to taste
Salt and pepper, to taste
1/2 cup baby spinach
1 egg

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a large skillet over medium-high heat, add 1 tbsp olive oil. Add garlic and saute until fragrant, about 15 seconds.
  2. Add potatoes and red pepper strips to skillet. Season with cayenne, salt, and pepper. Saute, turning often, until potatoes are starting to brown, about 10 minutes.
  3. Place skillet in preheated oven and cook until potatoes are fork tender, about 15-25 minutes, depending on the size of your potatoes. (I don’t have an oven-proof skillet, so I wrapped my handle in aluminum foil and it works just as well. Just don’t forget to use an oven mitt when you take it out!)
  4. While the potatoes are cooking, heat other tbsp olive oil in a small skillet over medium heat. Crack the egg into the skillet, and step away. Let the egg do it’s thing. It is ready when the edges start to curl and the whites are set. The yolk will be set, but still wobbly.
  5. When the potatoes are done, place them on a serving dish and toss with the spinach. The heat will wilt the spinach slightly and make it wonderful.Top with the egg and enjoy.

Source: Kids in the Sink original

Leave a Reply

