Kids in the Sink

Faith Friday + The Best Chocolate Chip Cookies Ever

on November 16, 2012

Oh my gosh, guys.  I’m reading this book and it’s totally convicting me.  “Messing me up in a good way,” is how I’ve heard the girls at She Reads Truth refer to it.  Except that I’m not sure how good it is just yet, because I just read a chapter and had to immediately come write this entry, because it messed me up that much.

The book is Weird by Craig Groeschel, and weird it is.  I’m not too far into it but the chapter I just read, chapter 3, was about rest and the lack of ability to rest.  Conviction, here we go.  Heather always tells me she has trouble with being lazy and I have trouble with resting.  I, for one, don’t think Heather is lazy but I know, without a doubt, that I have trouble resting.  I’ve always blown people off when they’ve brought that up to me.  There is no blowing God off, I guess.  This time He told me via this book and it totally smacked me in the face.  Dang. I don’t know how to rest.  I literally don’t know how. I sleep at night. Not very well, because I have two young children, which is self-explanatory, but I do manage to get some sleep.  If I’m awake, though, I’m doing something.  Menu planning, cooking , sorting through recipes, catching up on Facebook messages or emails, planning cool stuff to do with the kids, etc.

Guys, I check my texts, emails, and Facebook updates at stop lights.  Seriously? I am not that important. I am a mommy that works part-time (for now, more to come on that later) and I’m addicted to being busy.  That’s ridiculous!  I’m so busy being busy that I miss time with my babies, the ones that make me the most happy!  Stupid.  Sure, they’re around in the house while I’m doing all this busy work but we’re certainly not spending time together. I could go on and on about the stupid things I do instead of rest but that doesn’t seem productive so let’s just move on.

Matthew 11:28-30 reads, “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”  I’m not sure about you, friends, but my yoke feels anything but easy and my burdens are the farthest thing from light.  Duh.  Because I’m not doing it right.  I’m not doing it His way.  If I don’t take time to rest, I’m not obeying Him.  It doesn’t matter if the things I’m doing instead of resting are good things.  It doesn’t matter that they’re not necessarily bad or harmful to me.  The truth is, they’re harmful to my soul if I can’t get away from them long enough to rest.

Surely I’m not the only one of us who does this, right?  Please, tell me I’m not alone here!  Let’s all just remember, around this time of Thanksgiving, to be thankful for all that we have.  Not for the fancy accessories and cool electronics.  But for the very fundamental things such as family, and friends, and rest.  Be thankful that we’re not just given the suggestion to rest and spend time with our God, but that we’ve been given an order to do so.  That’s pretty awesome.  God, Himself, told us to sit down and just take it all in.  Make time for that, friends.  It’s important.

And while you are resting, enjoy Heather’s most favorite chocolate chip cookies. Thin and chewy for days, because they are made with brown sugar instead of granulated. Well, chewy for days if they last days. And after you make them, I’m betting they won’t. Have a blessed weekend!

-Melissa

*Note: I’m just going to say it again; if you would just listen to me the FIRST time, it’d save you some heartache. You know I’m, like, always right. 🙂 I’m totally kidding. A little. Woof, friend! -Heather

The Best Chocolate Chip Cookies Ever

Ingredients:

1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 cup brown sugar, packed
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup + 3 tbsp plain flour
1 cup chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and set aside.
  2. In a large bowl, use a wooden spoon to mix together the butter, brown sugar, salt, and baking soda until completely combined.
  3. Add the egg and vanilla and mix until well combined.
  4. Add the flour and mix until combined. Fold in the chocolate chips.
  5. Scoop tablespoon sized balls and place them on the prepared baking sheet, about an inch apart.
  6. Bake for about 8-10 minutes, until the cookies are just set in the middle. Be very careful NOT to overbake! They will set more as they cool and this  keeps them chewy and wonderful.
  7. Let cool on pan for 1-2 minutes before removing to wire rack to cool completely. Unless you just can’t wait and want to burn your tongue off on hot, gooey cookies. It would totally be worth it and no one would judge you.

Source: Butter

3 responses to “Faith Friday + The Best Chocolate Chip Cookies Ever

  1. WOAH! Tears, chills and I think that smack on the forehead is going to leave a mark! I am guilty of all of this! Even the FB and email at the stoplight 😦 Thanks for this friend, I need it!!

  2. Laura says:

    I am glad you like it so far, even if part of you doesn’t like it, it’s a good thing. I am pretty sure I told you, but if you like it after you keep reading it, I would also highly recommend The Christian Atheist by him. I feel like they are sort of similar in terms of having lots of convicting material, but they are different enough that you don’t feel like you are reading the same stuff over and over again. Let me know your thoughts as you keep reading. Love u!

  3. Melene says:

    You are a wise woman, Melissa. I’m glad we’re related. 🙂 Speaking of that-I just have to say that part of the reason you are always doing something is probably because its in your genes. I know Poppy was that way and my Mom definitely is. What about your Dad? Thanks for your writing and sharing another yummy recipe, too! Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family!

Leave a Reply

