Kids in the Sink

Coffee Cake Muffins

on November 5, 2012

These coffee cake muffins were on a mission. On a mission to not be made and to single-handedly destroy my morning.

Oh, they should be easy enough to make. Pretty simple batter. A pretty simple streusel. These should not have ended up with  me in the fetal position in my kitchen, covered in flour, and sitting atop a mound of dishes. Ok, maybe that is a slight over exaggeration. But only slight.

I woke up the other morning in a sort of blah mood. You know those days. They’re the kind of days where a delicious muffin could really perk things up for you. So what do you do? Go make yourself a delicious muffin.

So I turned on my of King and Country station on Pandora and said a prayer and vowed to have a good day and make good muffins. And then satan turned my poor muffins against me. First of all, I totally didn’t read the instructions fully (I know, shocker) and I mixed the dry ingredients for the streusel and the muffins together in the food processor. At the same time. And pay-day is Thursday, folks. There is no wasting around here. So I went with it. And when I was done, I attempted to take the blade out of my food processor except you have to do about 50 triceps reps before doing so or else it will fling every.thing.every.where.

And I forgot to do my exercises.

Then I realized, I forgot to soften my butter. No bigs, my food processor could handle it. So I made a separate batch of streusel  and finally managed to get the batter in the liners and topped with streusel and in the oven. And I turned around to find my daughter licking the lid from the sour cream. The lid that she had gotten out of the trash and was covered in coffee grounds and only the Lord himself knows what else. There was flour on the floor. Flour on the counter. Flour in piles. Dishes piled high from using way too many bowls because I kept screwing up. And there was a little girl covered in what may or may not have been trash carrying salmonella or E.coli.

But, after about 18 minutes, I had muffins. And they were exactly the kind of delicious muffins to turn your morning around.

-Heather

Coffee Cake Muffins

*Note: I am including in the directions all the ways I “screwed up”, because I don’t know how these were supposed to taste, but my husband declared these one of his top muffins ever, so I must have done something right.

Ingredients:

For the muffins: 

3/4 cup sour cream
1 large egg
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup old-fashioned oats
1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
2 tsp ground cinnamon
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup sugar
1 tsp salt
8 tbsp + 2 tbsp unsalted butter, cut into pieces
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda

For the icing:

1 cup powdered sugar
2 tbsp water

Directions:

  1. For the muffins: Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and line a 12 cup muffin tin with liners. Set aside.
  2. In a measuring cup, measure the sour cream, then whisk in the egg and vanilla; set aside.
  3. In the bowl of your food processor fitted with the steel blade (remember to do your exercises), add 1/4 oats,1/4 brown sugar, and 1 tsp cinnamon and process in quick pulses until the oats have broken up some; transfer to a separate bowl and set aside.
  4. Return the bowl and blade to your food processor and combine the remaining oats, brown sugar, cinnamon, flours, sugar, and salt. Pulse until the oats are somewhat broken up. Add the butter and pulse until the pieces of butter are no bigger than peas. Carefully remove 1 cup of this mixture and stir it into the oat mixture until a lumpy streusel forms.
  5. Add the baking powder and soda to the flour mixture. Add the sour cream mixture to the bowl and process until the flour is just moistened.
  6. Divide the batter evenly between the muffin cups and sprinkle the streusel evenly over the batter, lightly pressing it down. Bake for 18-20 minutes or until just a few crumbs stick to a toothpick inserted in the center. Let the pan cool for 5 minutes on a wire rack before transferring the muffins to the wire rack to cool.
  7. For the icing: In a small bowl, whisk together the powdered sugar and water until smooth. Drizzle over the muffins and serve warm.

Source: adapted from Smells Like Home

One response to “Coffee Cake Muffins

  1. These sound like the perfect muffins to get you up off the floor from your fetal position!! I love coffee cake and muffins so I’m super excited about these!!

Leave a Reply

