Kids in the Sink

Faith Friday + Halloween Candy Bark

on November 2, 2012

Hi, guys! I’m back! Did you miss me so much? Because I totally missed you guys. That’s real talk, friends. We finally got the Internet and now I can get back to taking pictures and blogging with my bestie. And I’m really excited to get back Faith Friday. I feel like this move has probably given me enough Faith Friday topics to last a thousand Friday’s.

But, anywho, before I get to the Faith Friday part, let me tell you a little bit about this candy bark. I don’t even remember how long ago it was, but I know it was at least last Halloween, as in Halloween ’11, that Melissa saw and fell in love with leftover candy bark. She talked about it and dreamed about it and we talked about making it. For, like, a year. I was going to even make her some for Christmas as a present, but circumstances beyond my control why is candy so darn expensive! did not allow that to happen. Finally, a month or so before this Halloween, she decided she could wait no longer and made herself a batch of leftover Halloween candy bark. And it was everything that she dreamed it would be. And she ate it all. Maybe with some help from her man, but it disappeared quite quickly. And that is always a pretty good indicator that you should make it, too. Because you know you have Halloween candy, lying around, that you are sneaking here and there and hiding from your kids. No shame, folks. No shame.

Now, on to the faith. I have suffered from depression for a very long time. Winter’s were always harder for me. Something about that cold air hitting you and the chill in your bones that you just can’t seem to shake makes me sorrowful. I actually love fall and winter and everything that comes with them. I love pumpkin and spice and family and Christmas and the togetherness and kindness that the season brings. But there is a dark side to the cold for a lot of people, myself being one of them.

For the past few winter’s, I have been fine. But moving right as the weather began to turn really got to me. I know, I know. I moved an hour and a half away from everyone. It’s really not bad at all. I know this. But I lived all of my 25 years in one place, with the same people around me. And even though I have the most important people with me, being in a new house, in a new town, has left me feeling a little lost. I don’t feel at home in Fayetteville and I don’t feel at home here. I feel kind of like I’m in limbo. And those feelings are being exacerbated by the cold weather. Or rather, Satan is taking advantage of this combination of things to try to drag me down.

And I have let him.

Depression, once you have had it for so long, becomes an old friend. It is comfortable. It is predictable. It isn’t pleasant, but it’s something familiar. And in an unfamiliar place, that can look pretty tantalizing. I am strong enough in my faith now to realize and begin to see the warning signs. Just the little red flags that pop up that say, Heather, go read your Bible. Heather, go pray. Heather, TAKE THIS TO GOD.

And the response to that voice is a resounding no. Because depression makes you selfish and when you are selfish you are stubborn. And when you are selfish and stubborn you begin to doubt. And praying about little things like feeling a little down today seem trivial. There is so much else going on and there are things to do and there really isn’t any time to pray about something like that and there really isn’t any need to pray about something like that and…what if it doesn’t work?

But, being selfish and being stubborn are sins. I am sinning every time I refuse to pray and I know it. But I continue to do it, because there is always later and I’ll do it tomorrow.

I was doing preschool with my son today and we were studying the parable of the lost coin in Luke chapter 15. I was explaining to him how if we lost something dear to us, we would be very sad and we would try our hardest to get it back. And when we finally did, oh how happy we would be! We would jump and shout for joy! I explained to him that when we sin, we are lost. And our God is trying hard to get us back to Him. And all we have to do is repent and be forgiven to be found again. To be washed pure and holy again. And when we do that, “there is joy in the presence of the angels of God over one sinner who repents.” I went on to tell him that God and the angels jump and shout and cheer us on when we repent, because they love us. And then I was struck with the fact that they are waiting to cheer for me.

They are waiting for me to fall on my knees and give this to God. Every. Single. Day.

Every single negative thought that enters my mind, give to the one who can wash it clean. And if I dwell on it longer than I should, repent and give it to the one who will wash me clean.

We are all stubborn sometimes. There are some areas of our lives where we may be more stubborn than others. Maybe we are comfortable there. Maybe we don’t want to relinquish control, because we aren’t entirely sure where that would take us. But we have to let go. We have to give it to the one who has each and every one of our footsteps mapped out. The one who is waiting for us. Waiting with a hand outstretched to lift us up and walk with us wherever it is he has planned. Sometimes, that place will be hard. Sometimes, it will be easy. But it will always be wonderful, because He will be with us. Always. So get on your knees and get the angels singing.

Have a blessed weekend everyone!

-Heather

Leftover Halloween Candy Bark

Ingredients:

1 pound bittersweet chocolate, chopped
3 Butterfinger candy bars (or 8 fun-size bars), cut into 1-inch pieces
3 Kit-Kat candy bars (or 6 fun-size bars), cut into ¾-inch pieces
8 Reese’s peanut butter cups, each cut into 8 wedges
3 Twix candy bars (or 6 fun-size bars), cut into 1-inch pieces
½ cup Peanut M&M’s
1/2 cup Pretzel M&M’s
¼ cup honey roasted peanuts or chopped pretzels
3 ounces white chocolate, chopped

Directions:

  1. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and set aside.
  2. In a medium bowl, microwave the bittersweet chocolate in 30 second intervals, stirring in between, until melted and smooth. Pour the chocolate onto the prepared baking sheet and using a spatula, smooth into a thin, even layer
  3. Sprinkle the chopped candy pieces onto the chocolate, lightly pressing to make sure they are all in contact with the chocolate to ensure they adhere. Refrigerate for 30 minutes or until set.
  4. Melt the white chocolate in the microwave in the same way you melted the bittersweet, and using a spoon or ziploc baggie, drizzle the white chocolate onto the chilled bark. Refrigerate for 30 minutes, or until the white chocolate has set.
  5. Cut or break the bark into irregular pieces and serve. Store leftovers in an airtight container in the refrigerator.

Source: Barely adapted from Brown Eyed Baker

One response to “Faith Friday + Halloween Candy Bark

  1. Nancy Zaiser says:

    This looks yummy and is such a great idea for clearing up that leftover candy! Thank you! – –
    Heather, your openess about your depression is a blessing. I too suffer from that old ‘friend.’ I am fortunate in that I have not gotten so depressed as to be diagnosed with clinical depression, but, nonetheless, it is an ugly, consuming pit that calls me far to often for my liking. I live in Ohio and also have noticed the colder months being more problematic. I will lift you up in prayer as you adjust to your new surroundings. Thanks for the recipes!

Leave a Reply

