Kids in the Sink

Faith Friday + Sweet and Salty Guinness Pie

on October 26, 2012

I (Melissa) have a three and a half year old.  She’s a girl.  Needless to say, that territory comes with some drama.  I also have a 16 month old little dare devil of a boy.  He never stops looking for ways to injure himself fatally.  When he’s not climbing onto and jumping off of high objects, he’s busy screaming or hitting his sister.  And so on and so on… This is probably not too dissimilar from your story, right? No big deal, just two kids, pretty close in age, both young and at times, pretty annoying.  Except that sometimes, it is a big deal.  Sometimes it feels like these awful phases will never end.  Sometimes it feels like screaming and drinking excessively is the only way to get through it.

Ok, that last part was a joke.  Don’t email me.  I don’t drink excessively, seriously.  I will admit, ashamedly, that I do yell a lot more than I would like, though.  I just get so frustrated sometimes because Bailey has such a mouth on her and Kale doesn’t have many words yet and he’s a boy so he’s just excessively loud!  Add that to not nearly enough sleep (because it’s a little known fact to those that aren’t mothers, that we never sleep. Like never, ever.) and eventually, you are headed for a storm of epic proportion. But it doesn’t have to be that way. With help from the greatest Parent ever, we can get through even the roughest days with our little ones.

The thing that God really impressed upon my heart this week was in dealing with Bailey.  She was speaking to me in a way that was loud, rude, and disrespectful.  Not acceptable.  I disciplined her for it, of course.  But as I was going through the motions, I was still upset that she had spoken to me that way.  It hit me.  She got that tone and those demanding words from me.  It could have been me that was speaking the words that came out of her mouth.  Ouch.  Then, as I was preparing to write this blog post, I stumbled on Matthew 18:6 -“If anyone causes one of these little ones—those who believe in me—to stumble, it would be better for them to have a large millstone hung around their neck and to be drowned in the depths of the sea.”  Double ouch.

I don’t want to be the person that leads my babies into sin. That’s the last thing I want.  I want them to be blessed children of God, who bring glory to Him with each purposeful word they speak. I want to be an intentional parent.  A parent who disciplines respectfully and shows my children Christ’s love by seeing them as He does. Oh friends, it’s so hard.  What a lesson God taught me this week.  All I have to do is pray for these things and seek God’s word because it has (get this!) ALL of the answers.  Yep, for real, all of them.  We just have to read it.  And pray.  Then we have to set to being intentional about it.  The Bible spells it out for us, but we have to do the work.  With God’s help, of course.

I’ll leave you with Psalm 127:3 “Children are a gift from the LORD; they are a reward from Him.”  Lord, helps us remember to see our children as You do.  Help us to be patient and caring and purposeful in raising these blessings that you have bestowed upon us.  Thank for these gifts!

-Melissa

Sweet and Salty Guinness Pie

Ingredients:

For the crust:

2 cups crushed pretzels
1 cup graham cracker crumbs
10 tbsp. unsalted butter, melted
1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons light brown sugar

For the filling:

8 egg yolks
1 cup sugar
1 cup Guinness Draught
2 1/4 cups heavy cream
7 ounces bittersweet chocolate chips
1/4 cup cornstarch

Directions:

For the crust:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In a large bowl, mix together all ingredients thoroughly with a wooden spoon.
  3. Evenly distribute the mixture into two pie plates.  You could also evenly distribute the crust mixture into 24 muffin cups or 12 jumbo muffin cups, as pictured above.
  4. Bake for 10 minutes and then let cool completely on a cooling rack.  Meanwhile, make the pie filling.

For the filling:

  1. In a glass bowl, whisk together egg yolks and sugar. Set aside.
  2. In a heavy saucepan, whisk together Guinness and heavy cream.  Cook over medium-high heat until just before boiling.  Remove from heat and stir in chocolate chips.  Whisk until chocolate is completely melted.
  3. Once chocolate is melted, take 1/2 cup of the chocolate mixture and whisk it into the egg yolk mixture to temper the eggs. Then, whisk all of the egg yolk mixture into the chocolate mixture.
  4. Whisk in cornstarch and return to stove on medium heat.  Continue to whisk almost constantly until mixture thickens to the consistency of pudding.  For me, this took about 6-7 minutes.
  5. Remove from heat and distribute filling evenly into cooled pie crusts.  Refrigerate until cold and serve.

Source: Barely adapted from Sprinkle Bakes

2 responses to “Faith Friday + Sweet and Salty Guinness Pie

  1. Melene says:

    Beautifully written, Melissa! A wonderful reminder for those of us with teenagers, too. And I love the idea of the sweet and salty in this recipe!

  2. Thanks Melene! I can’t even begin to imagine dealing with teenagers yet… But I’m sure God can get me through that too lol.

Leave a Reply

