Kids in the Sink

Faith Friday + Pumpkin Ice Cream

on October 5, 2012

Friends, first of all I have to say that we serve the most amazing God.  Like, a hardcore awesome God. Secondly, I have to say thank you.  Thank you for your prayers regarding my post about my husband coming home from Afghanistan.  Lastly, and this is the best part, I want to need to tell you that prayers were answered!

He arrived home safely a little over three weeks ago.  His plan upon arrival was to stay with a roommate in his own apartment, just like our arrangement had been before.  Nearly two weeks into his time home, he had not yet moved into said apartment.  Honestly, we were enjoying our time together as a family.  Yes, all four of us.  I was excited to have him home to help with the kids and things were going swimmingly.  The kids were loving him (despite just a few typical post-deployment hiccups) and we were getting along well, too.

The night that he was to move out, he took things to the new apartment, and said he would see us the next day.  That was bittersweet.  I was relieved and a little sad.  Totally torn, actually.  I loved the idea of having him home with us longer and it was fun to pretend we were a real, not partly broken, family for a couple weeks.  But it was also extremely scary to think about him being back full time with all the issues he/we still had to sort out.  Heather had mentioned to me that maybe him staying with us for as long as two weeks was possibly part of God’s plan.  Psh! I told her I was NOT ready for that yet.

Wanna hear something about God? Sometimes, He totally uses my best friend to confirm things for me.  And sometimes He says, “It doesn’t matter if YOU think you’re ready, we’re doing this now.” Enter Mike, later that night.  He came back.  He said he wanted to come home and be a full time husband and Daddy. That poor man of mine must have thought I was a heartless fool because after the better part of two years separated, when he asked to come home, I was speechless and shocked.  You see, guys, I expected it to happen eventually.  I knew God was working because I could totally see it in so many aspects of our lives.  I just didn’t know it would happen so fast.  I guess when God says it’s time, though, it’s time.

So, my husband is back in the house and we’re working on things.  Err… let me re-phrase that. God is working on us.  And if I wasn’t sure if this was really God’s plan? (And I wasn’t) I was affirmed at church when someone gave a prophecy to the congregation that said, “God says ‘Take my hand and walk with me. I will give you what you need to do what I have asked of you.’” Whoa… ok then, enough said.  That isn’t to say I’m not scared, because I am.  I’m nervous and sometimes Satan attacks me with massive worries. But I believe my God is bigger and stronger and His word tells us that who He brings together, nothing can tear apart.  I will happily cast my fears aside and rest easy in His word.

Thank you, friends, from the bottom of my heart, for praying.  Your prayers were received and we are living proof that prayers are answered! Not always in our timing and not always how we thought it would or should be, but they are always answered.  Please keep the prayers coming for our family and all of the other military families that struggle upon return from deployments.  Your thoughts and prayers mean so much to us.

Now, about the ice cream. 1. Yes, we posted 2 ice creams in a row. But this ice cream is fall ice cream. That makes it different. And 2. Yes, those are tomatoes in the pictures and no, there are not actually any tomatoes in the recipe. You see, we didn’t actually have any little pumpkins, but we thought it would have been nice if we did. We did, however, have some little orange tomatoes. So, we totally stuck those in the pictures and called it close enough. We are cheaters, we know. Love us anyway and eat some fall ice cream! Have a blessed weekend!

-Melissa

Pumpkin Ice Cream

Ingredients:

1½ cups whole milk
1 cup heavy cream
1/3 cup plus 2 tbsp sugar
1 tsp freshly-grated ginger
½ tsp ground cinnamon
1 cinnamon stick
½ tsp ground nutmeg
¼ tsp kosher salt
5 large egg yolks
¼ cup dark brown sugar
½ tsp vanilla extract
¾ cup canned pumpkin

Directions:

  1. Make an ice bath by putting some ice and a little water in a large bowl. Place a smaller bowl inside, one that will hold at least 2 quarts, and set a mesh strainer over the top. Set aside.
  2. In a medium saucepan, mix together the milk, cream, sugar, ginger, ground cinnamon, cinnamon stick, nutmet, and salt. Warm the mixture over medium-low heat until hot and the edges begin to bubble and foam.
  3. Whisk together the egg yolks in a separate bowl and gradually whisk in about half of the warm milk mixture, stirring constantly.
  4. Scrape the warmed egg mixtgure back into the saucepan and cook over low heat, stirring constantly and scraping the bottom with a spatula, until the mixture thickens and coats the back of a spoon.
  5. Immediately pour the mixture through the strainer into the bowl nested inside of the ice bath. It was very thick for us and took a long time to strain, but we didn’t have any problems.
  6. Mix in the brown sugar, add the cinnamon stick back in, and stir until cool. Chill thoroughly.
  7. Once chilled, whisk in the vanilla and pumpkin. The orginal recipe called for it to be strained a second time, but we skipped this step with no problems. Freeze in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

Source: Brown Eyed Baker

 

 

One response to “Faith Friday + Pumpkin Ice Cream

  1. […] the contents of a giant can of half used pumpkin puree just hanging out in the fridge.  We make a lot of things pumpkin.  Like last week’s pumpkin waffles, or the week before that’s baked […]

Leave a Reply

