Kids in the Sink

Birthday Cake Pancakes

on August 29, 2012

Last week, Melissa celebrated her last birthday as a twenty-something. Next year, it’s going to be the big three-oh. Yikes.

I always tease her about her age, because I am 4 years younger than her, thus making me infinitely more young and hip and with it. But maybe I just negated all of that because I said “hip and with it”. Whatever.

Around here, we don’t just celebrate birthdays, we celebrate birthday weeks. In doing so, that gives us license to enjoy treats and delicious food and festivities for a whole week.

We had both seen various cake batter or birthday cake things floating around the Internet, but they all called for boxed yellow cake mix. We generally try to stay away from processed and boxed things and the one time we did buy a box of cake mix recently to make something cake batter-ey, it stayed in the refrigerator for forever, not getting any grosser because of the 5,439 preservatives, but still remaining unused and taking up valuable shelf space. So when we saw a recipe for homemade yellow cake mix (recipe to come), we were all over it. And the first thing we decided to make were these birthday cake pancakes on Melissa’s birthday.

And they were good. Goooood. Like oh-my-heavens-I-want-to-eat-this-all-day-long-but-if-I-do-I-might-throw-up-but-it-would-be-totally-worth-it good. We had enough common sense to not eat them all day long, but we did make them for breakfast again the next day. They are sweet and laden with sprinkles and please, please don’t even think about omitting the cream glaze, because it’s just not a cake with frosting.

So, happy birthday, my BEST friend. God has blessed me richly to have a friend like you, a friend that I can depend on for anything at all. You have helped me and pushed me and lifted me up on so many occasions. I know you don’t keep a record, but I am forever indebted to you for your kindness and charity and love towards me and my family. Woof.

-Heather

 Birthday Cake Pancakes

Serves 4

Ingredients:

For the pancakes:

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup yellow cake mix (homemade or the box kind)
1 tbsp sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
2 eggs
1 1/2 cups buttermilk
1/2 cup milk
2 Tbsp butter, melted
1 tsp vanilla
1/3 cup sprinkles

For the icing:

Whipping cream
Powdered sugar

Directions:

  1. For the pancakes: Heat a griddle or nonstick skillet over medium heat. While the griddle is heating, in a large bowl, whisk together the flour, cake mix, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt and set aside.
  2. In a medium bowl, lightly beat the eggs. Add the buttermilk, milk, butter, and vanilla and whisk until combined.
  3. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and stir to combine. Fold in the sprinkles.
  4. Scoop portions of 1/4 cup batter onto the griddle, leaving room for them to spread. When bubbles begin to form on the tops of the pancakes, flip and cook on the other side for 1-2 minutes, until golden brown. Top with the icing and sprinkles and enjoy immensely.
  5. For the icing: Whisk together the cream and powdered sugar until you reach your desired consistency and taste.

Source: Pennies on a Platter

 

3 responses to “Birthday Cake Pancakes

  1. Ann says:

    “And they were good. Goooood. Like oh-my-heavens-I-want-to-eat-this-all-day-long-but-if-I-do-I-might-throw-up-but-it-would-be-totally-worth-it good.”
    Heather just let me say, that is the best definition of good I have ever heard, read, or seen. Now that you’ve convinced me with the definition of good, I will definitely have to try these when my granddaughter next visit. Thanks for you blog and for your recipes.

  2. erika says:

    Mmm cake batter pancakes are so good and your photos are beautiful!! Love this post.

  3. petit4chocolatier says:

    Scrumptious!

Leave a Reply

