Kids in the Sink

Almond Joy Biscuits

on August 13, 2012

So my (Melisa’s) mom, she has this biscuit recipe that is outstanding. It’s like a serious, you can only make these once a month because if you make them more, you’ll be a giant fat cow, biscuit recipe.  There’s lard and buttermilk and white flour involved and they’re a little bit of childhood and Heaven, all rolled into one.  The only problem with this recipe?  There’s no recipe at all. Anywhere.  It’s one of those southern things that her mama’s mama made and she watched her mama make them and that’s how she learned.  And then there’s me.

Now, listen here.  I like to think there isn’t much in the kitchen that I can’t do.  I can follow a recipe and I can create recipes and I can do somewhere between those two things.  So I’ve watched my mom make these biscuits probably 1,073 times in my life.  Unfortunately for me, that is not how I learn.  I have only tried to make them myself, without her assistance, one time.  The results were edible but not very desirable.  They were a total fail.  And I haven’t tried again because, well, I don’t like total fails in the kitchen.  They discourage me.  So to keep morale high, I just don’t do it. Sounds healthy, right? Sure!

So now you’re like… “But the title of this post is biscuits…”  Here is where I tell you the good news.  THESE biscuits are easy.  THESE biscuits have an actual recipe.  Not any of that watch me and learn mumbo jumbo.  A real deal recipe without any guess work.  They’re not really biscuits though, in the traditional sense of the word.  They’re more like biscones, which is a biscuit/scone.  And they’re kind of desserty, but we like desserty things for breakfast around here so if you do too, let’s do this!

-Melissa

Almond Joy Biscuits

Makes about 10 biscuits, depending on size

Ingredients:

1 and 3/4c whole wheat flour (we used whole white wheat flour)
1/2 cup slivered almonds
1/2 cup brown sugar or coconut sugar or Sucanat (we used Sucanat)
2 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp plus 1/8 tsp salt
3 tbsp coconut oil or canola oil
2/3 cup milk
1 tbsp white vinegar or lemon juice (this is to make buttermilk. If you have buttermilk, you could just use that instead)
1/2 cup chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment.
  2. Combine milk and vinegar or lemon juice in a small bowl and let sit for at least 5 minutes.  If you’re using buttermilk, you can skip this step.
  3. In a large bowl, whisk together all of the dry ingredients.  I smashed up the slivered almonds with my hands a little bit so they wouldn’t be quite so big. The original author of this recipe recommends the food processor. I just didn’t want to dirty up another bowl.
  4. In the bowl with the milk mixture/buttermilk, add the oil. Then, pour the milk/oil mixture into the dry ingredients and stir with a wooden spoon (or your hands, this is always how we do it) until just combined, making sure not to handle it too much or it will be a very dense biscuit.
  5. Once all of the ingredients are combined, pour in the chocolate chips and knead them in until they’re evenly dispersed.  This will only take a few kneads, until the dough isn’t sticky anymore.
  6. Now you can either cut them into biscuits using a biscuit cutter or use my mom’s method and just form them into little patties,  patting them out into a biscuit shape.
  7. Bake on prepared baking sheet for 14-15 minutes, until slightly golden brown.

Source: Slightly adapted from Chocolate Covered Katie

Leave a Reply

