Kids in the Sink

Granola and Yogurt Parfait

on June 28, 2012

Let me just give you some quotes from this morning.

“They’re bothering me!” … in reference to the salt and pepper on the table. Really?

“Mom, you’re too loud!” Umm. REALLY?!?!  Hello, Kettle. This is Bailey. You’re black.

“Mama, sorry for killing my brother.” Ok, this one deserves some explanation.

Bailey got a jump rope for her birthday in March.  She’s 3 so as you can guess, she can’t jump rope.  Instead, she treats the rope as a tug of war rope and they have hours (ok, minutes) of fun with it.  This morning, though, I heard Kale whimpering and turned around to see Bailey tugging the rope and the other end was wrapped around Kale’s neck.  Um, sweetie, he’s not a dog.  It scared me so I yelled NO!  Then, so that she would grasp the gravity of the situation, I said, “You could have killed him. That was very dangerous.”  Hence, she’s sorry for killing him.  Of course I explained to her, once the rope was unraveled from my young son’s neck and promptly thrown into the trash can, that she didn’t kill him and I know she didn’t mean to hurt him but that it could have been very dangerous.  All of these shenanigans before breakfast.  Man, things move quickly around here. Don’t be too jealous, it’s not appealing.

Now that you’ve heard about my morning, lets talk about this parfait.  It’s redic.  Oh, that’s a word the youth these days are using.  Short for ridiculous.  Much like the youth themselves, redic.  This is a bowl (or cup or glass or vat) full of  yogurt, yummy granola, and fruit.  Heather immediately said about this, “I want to eat this every day.” And I agree.  I’m with her.  Let’s eat this every day.

-Melissa

Yogurt and Granola Parfait

Ingredients:

Plain yogurt sweetened with honey or agave, or your favorite flavor
Blueberries, or your favorite fruit
Coconut Granola

Directions:

  1. In a  bowl (or whatever it is you’re using), pour a layer of yogurt, then a layer of granola, then a layer of fruit and repeat layers until you have your desired amount of parfait. Eat and enjoy!

Source: Kids in the Sink original

One response to “Granola and Yogurt Parfait

  1. arbine says:

    Oh gosh. The morning quotes sound like my 3-year-old. And this parfait looks super yummy! Have a great rest of your week! 🙂

Leave a Reply

