Kids in the Sink

Faith Friday + Key Lime Pie

on May 25, 2012

Nehemiah 8:10 “Nehemiah said, ‘Go and enjoy choice food and sweet drinks, and send some to those who have nothing prepared. This day is holy to our Lord. Do not grieve, for the joy of the Lord is your strength.'”

On any given day, I have to sweep, mop, change diapers, clean up toys 87 times, water the garden, cook several meals, load and unload the dishwasher, clean up crumbs, say “No” exactly 684 times, wash and fold clothes, dress kids, tie shoes, mow the grass, clean up messes, change batteries in toys, and the exhausting list goes on and on. And I do mean exhausting. It’s easy to burn out. In fact, I never really realized I’m burnt out until I find myself yelling at my kids or getting frustrated with every little thing. It’s like I don’t even have time to notice things are going awry with me until I’ve already lost control of the situation. That’s not good.

As moms, we often get so lost in our children and family and the things that just have to be done, that we lose sight of one of the most important things God has for us: joy. The Bible tells us again and again that we are to relax and enjoy this life that God has blessed us with. Sometimes, as least for me and I think it’s the case for many moms, this means taking a break from all of the duties we’re saddled with as mommies. It’s okay to need a break. Everyone needs a break every now and then. But moms tend to feel guilty for needing this. Let me tell you, friends, that guilt does not come from our Lord.

Something I struggle with is finding the time for just me, especially as I’m the sole parent for my kids right now. But I realized this week that I’m not the mom I want to be when I’m burnt out.  I’m not the best me when I’ve been burning the candle at both ends for weeks on end. I’m not the best Christian. I can’t serve the Lord the way He wants me to when I don’t take that time for myself to just relax and unwind. God wants our best. He wants us to be joyful and love Him the most we can. So moms, don’t feel guilty for taking time for yourself. It’s necessary and it’s our God-given right. Go and do as Nehemiah said! Enjoy some choice food (this Key Lime pie, the perfect summer dessert) and some sweet drinks. Praise the Lord to the fullest and know that His joy is our strength!

-Melissa

Key Lime Pie

*Note: Key limes are much more tart. You can use regular limes if you can’t find key limes, but it will be a much more subdued flavor and not a true key lime pie.

Ingredients:

For the key lime filling:

4 tsp lime zest
4 egg yolks
1 (14 oz) can sweetened condensed milk
1/2 cup fresh key lime juice

For the graham cracker crust:

1 cup graham cracker crumbs
2 tbsp sugar
5 tbsp unsalted butter, melted, but still warm

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 325°.
  2. For the key lime filling: Whisk the lime zest and the egg yolks together in a medium bowl for about 2 minutes.
  3. Add the condensed milk and whisk until combined. Whisk in the lime juice and set aside at room temperature to thicken while you prepare and bake the crust.
  4. For the graham cracker crust: In a medium bowl, mix together the graham cracker crumbs and the sugar.
  5. While stirring the graham cracker and sugar with a fork, drizzle the butter over the crumbs and sugar. Once you have added all the butter, the mixture should be moistened and look like wet sand.
  6. Transfer the crumbs to a 9-inch pie plate and evenly press them into the plate. Bake the crust until it just begins to brown, 15-18 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack to cool to room temperature.
  7. Once the crust has cooled, pour the key lime mixture into it. Bake until the center is set, but still jiggly when lightly shaken, about 15-17 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack and cool to room temperature.
  8. Once the pie comes to room temperature, refrigerate until chilled, at least 3 hours. Serve or cover with plastic wrap in the refrigerator for up to 1 day.

Source: Brown Eyed Baker

One response to “Faith Friday + Key Lime Pie

  1. Lovely post 🙂 and as for the recipe, gorgeous! Ive never made my own key lime pie, i cant even remember the last time I ate one! But have been wanting to for a while, and this looks simply beautiful. Love it 🙂

Leave a Reply

