Kids in the Sink

Chocolate, Strawberry, and Banana Baked Oatmeal

on May 10, 2012

So, there’s a funny story about this oatmeal that wasn’t very funny when it happened, but is funny now, but still not all the way funny because it wasn’t that long ago that it happened.

It’s about my husband. About how he has selective hearing. And by selective hearing I mean he makes up things that never even come out of my mouth and chooses to hear that. That was the case with this oatmeal.

We recently took a trip to our state farmer’s market and bought two 2 gallon buckets of strawberries. When we got home, we then started trying to find things to do with the strawberries before they went bad. We froze some, made preserves, scones, muffins, shortcake, and this oatmeal. It was easy to throw together and we all really enjoyed it for breakfast.

We made a large dish of it and had some leftover. I planned on eating it for the next morning’s breakfast, but I had to leave early and it was still too warm to put in the refrigerator. Enter husband. He was staying home and I said to him, “Husband, this is hot and I have to leave. Please put it in the refrigerator after it cools down.” And husband says, “Ok….” and proceeds to talk about other things unrelated to oatmeal.

The day goes on and I get home later that evening. I walk into the kitchen and what to my wondering eyes does appear? The oatmeal. The oatmeal that was supposed to be in the refrigerator. So, I turned to husband and said, “Babe! You forgot the oatmeal!”

Husband, “Forgot what? You didn’t tell me anything about the oatmeal.”
Me, “I told you to put it in the refrigerator when it cooled down because I had to leave. You responded to me!”
Husband, “The only thing you said about the oatmeal was ‘This is hot. Don’t touch it.'”
Me, “What? I didn’t say that at all. Those words didn’t even come out of my mouth!”
Husband, “Well, sorry.” (That kind of sorry with an emphasis on sorry that says I’m not really sorry. Yeah, that one.)
Me, “It’s ok. I forgive you because I am a nice, loving, forgiving wife.”

Ok, maybe I didn’t say that. Maybe I said something about how he doesn’t listen to me and now I have to throw it out and blah, blah. Sorry husband. I do love you more than words can express. And I can always make more oatmeal. And you should make this oatmeal because it is really good and full of flavor and tastes like summer. Just don’t argue with your husband over it. It’s good, but it’s just oatmeal.

-Heather

Chocolate, Strawberry, and Banana Baked Oatmeal

Ingredients:

2 cups old fashioned rolled oats
1/3 cup light brown sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp Chinese five spice powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pecans, chopped
1 cup sliced strawberries
1/3 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
2 cups milk
1 egg
3 tbsp coconut oil, melted
2 tsp vanilla
1 ripe banana, in 1/2 inch slices

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375° and grease a 10 1/2 x 7 in. baking dish and set aside.
  2. In a large bowl, mix together the oats, sugar, baking powder, five spice, salt, and half the pecans, half the strawberries, and half the chocolate chips.
  3. In another large bowl, whisk together the milk, egg, oil, and vanilla.
  4. Add the dry oat mixture to the prepared baking dish. Add the remaining pecans, strawberries, and chocolate chips to the top. Arrange the banana slices on top and pour the milk mixture over everything. Gently shake and tap the dish until mixture is settled throughout the oats.
  5. Bake for 35-40 minutes, until the mixture is set and lightly browned on top. If desired, sprinkle a little brown sugar and broil for a few seconds until melty and delicious. Serve warm with maple syrup or a splash of cream.

Source: Inspired Taste

Leave a Reply

