Kids in the Sink

Faith Friday + Mexican Brownies

on May 4, 2012

This month with my three year-old has been a challenge.  She has learned that she is independent of me and doesn’t actually have to do what I say.  I don’t mean that in the way that sounds like I don’t make her do what I tell her. I mean she has newly realized that she has a choice whether or not she will listen to me and do as I ask her to do.  That realization has come with a lovely new phrase: “But Mama, I don’t want to…” Ugh! Preschoolers are fuuuuuuuuuuuuun!  No really, they are, most of the time.  If only she were a robot… Oops, that’s totally off topic.

It came to me recently that God must feel that way with us when we don’t submit to Him.  So often we hear from Him or things are made blindingly clear for us but we just shrug it off and say, “But I don’t want to” or “Not right now.” If it isn’t the answer we want or if (and God knows I’m tired of this one) the answer is just to wait and watch and listen to see what He’s doing, it’s like it isn’t good enough for us.  Maybe it’s just me but sometimes I feel like I would really love for God to just listen to ME so I could tell Him how things should go. Does anyone else act like that?  Please say yes!

Of course, I obviously don’t think I know better than God. I want His will to be done. But do my actions show that? Not always. Not nearly as much as they should. In order to get the full benefit of what God has to offer, we must fully submit everything to Him. This includes our authority, our children, our families, our jobs, etc. We have to submit it all. Otherwise, God is probably just looking down us thinking, “How is your way workin’ out for ya?” I definitely feel Him saying that to me sometimes.  Not in a mean way, because our God is so amazingly compassionate that it’s ridiculous, but more of in a please-just-let-me-take-care-of-this way.

So I can’t speak for you, but for me, I’m going to be making a habit of praying for my friends, family and myself to submit everything to Him. Even things that might seem scary.  And aren’t there so many things that seem scary? Rest easy and know that He, our loving, mighty God, has it all under control and His outcome is very likely better than we could ever have imagined. Praise the Lord!

Happy Cinco de Mayo (well really, it’s quatro de Mayo today but you know what we mean) everyone. Enjoy some of these delicious Mexican brownies as you celebrate!

-Melissa

Mexican Brownies

Ingredients:

2 sticks unsalted butter, plus more for greasing
2 cups sugar
4 large eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2/3 cup good-quality unsweetened cocoa powder
1 cup all purpose flour
1 teaspoon ground Mexican cinnamon (all we had was regular and that works)
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon baking powder

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350˚ and line a 9×13 baking dish with parchment paper, leaving an overhang on two sides. Lightly grease and set aside.
  2. Melt the butter in a saucepan, taking care not to boil. Once melted, remove from heat and let cool slightly. Add the sugar, eggs, and vanilla and stir with a wooden spoon until combined.
  3. In a medium bowl, whisk together the cocoa powder, flour, cinnamon, cayenne, and baking powder. Add the wet ingredients to the dry mixture and mix until combined.
  4. Spread the batter into the prepared pan and bake for 20-25 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out fudgy. Cool in the pan on a wire rack and then remove using the parchment.

Source: Aaron Sanchez

One response to “Faith Friday + Mexican Brownies

  1. The brownies look wonderful and my answer is YES! I often wish that God’s timing was the same as my timing. Submitting to His perfect will is not always easy, although it IS always best. Thanks for sharing! Love you girls!

Leave a Reply

