Kids in the Sink

Faith Friday + Amazing Blondies

on April 13, 2012

Love is patient,
Love is kind.
It does not envy,
It does not boast,
It is not proud.
It does not dishonor others,
It is not self-seeking,
It is not easily angered,
It keeps no record of wrongs.
Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.
It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.
Love never fails.

1 Corinthians 13:4-8

Wow.  Powerful stuff. Now, try this: read it again but substitute the first word with the word “I.”

I am patient.  I am kind.  I do not envy. I do not boast.  I am not proud.  I do not dishonor others.  I am not self-seeking. I am not easily angered. I keep no record of wrongs. I do not delight in evil but rejoice with the truth.  I always protect, always trust, always hope, always persevere.

Is all of that true of you?  If it is, stop reading and tell God to beam you up, Scotty because you must be Jesus.  And Jesus, if you’re reading our blog, that’s totally cool.

All jokes aside, I recently heard someone say that in their quiet time, they heard the Lord tell them to pray this over themselves.  So I did it too and I tell you, every time I do it, I get chills! It feels so empowering and uplifting! God is all of those things. He is Love. But he made us in His image and we are to strive to be all of those things.

We all have relationships that are struggling.  Marriages, friendships, children, parents, siblings.  Praying these things over that specific relationship could vastly improve the struggle. Even if you think the change needs to happen with the other person in that relationship, if you pray these things over yourself, I bet God will show you an area that you need to work on. The beautiful thing about God is that He can (and will) change you and oftentimes, once you change, that other person in the relationship will take notice and begin to want to change too. Even dirt bags find it hard to be jerks to someone who is going out of their way to be totally nice.  Not that your parent or child or husband or friend is a dirt bag but I’m just saying… If you change first, they will likely do the same.  But even if they don’t (right away) begin to see and treat you differently, the good news is, you’ll feel better anyway.  Because it feels GOOD to be walkin’ in the Spirit!

Maybe you don’t believe those things about yourself. I don’t believe all of them about myself. In fact, as I typed it and read it just now, I almost inserted a sarcastic “yeah, right!” to the “keeps no record of wrongs” verse.  That’s something I struggle with. But God can change it.  He said that all I need is faith the size of a mustard seed and all His promises are mine for the taking. I’ve got that!

Love never fails.  God never fails.  Sometimes we fail.  The important thing to remember is that He doesn’t.  He is an amazing, loving God. Have a blessed weekend and make these ridiculous blondies with brown butter frosting.  You won’t regret the decision!

-Melissa

Heath Bar Blondies with Brown Butter Frosting

Ingredients:

For the blondies:
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, at room temperature
3/4 cup packed light brown sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3/4 cup milk chocolate toffee pieces or finely chopped heath bars

For the frosting:
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter,  browned and chilled for an hour*
2 cups powdered sugar
1/4 cup milk

Directions:

  1. For the blondies: Preheat the oven to 350˚ and grease an 8 inch baking dish.  Set aside.
  2. Whisk together the flour, baking powder and salt in a small bowl.  Set aside.
  3. In the bowl of your stand mixer, cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy.
  4. Beat in the egg and vanilla until thoroughly combined.
  5. With a spoon, stir in the flour mixture until just combined.  Stir in toffee pieces.
  6. Pour batter into prepared pan and bake for approximately 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Cool on a wire wrack.
  7. For the frosting: Brown the butter in a sauce pan by heating it over medium heat for several minutes, stirring occasionally, being careful not to let it burn.  There is a fine line between brown butter and black butter.  Once it starts to smell nutty and begins to turn brown, immediately take it off the heat.  Chill browned butter in the refrigerator for an hour.  It will re-solidify.
  8. Beat browned butter with mixer on high until light and fluffy.  Then slowly add 1 cup powdered sugar, 1/8 cup milk, the other cup of powdered sugar, and then the remaining 1/8 cup of milk.  Beat this mixture until very light and creamy.
  9. Spread frosting over cooled blondies and cut into 9 bars.

Source: Slightly adapted from Keep It Sweet Desserts

3 responses to “Faith Friday + Amazing Blondies

  1. arbine says:

    Heath Bar & Blondies? I’m sold. I also wanted to let you know that I nominated Kids in the Sink for a Liebster Blog Award. It’s something that helps up-and-coming blogs get the exposure they deserve. Here’s my post on it: http://wp.me/p1xfz5-2Xj . Have a lovely week! 🙂

  2. arbine says:

    You’re totally welcome! Have a great day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

