Kids in the Sink

Vegetable Kebabs

on April 10, 2012

My friend Heather, God bless her, she has these ideas.  These crazy, irrational ideas that she can do things that she has never before done and that many people can not do. Want some examples?  Well you’ve come to the right place.  Heather believes that she could wrangle a snake in the wild because she’s seen it done on television.  Duh, all you have to do is hold it behind it’s eyes so it can’t bite you.  What? You can’t do that? Loser.

She also thinks that if someone tried to mug her, she could maybe talk them out of it by becoming their friend instead.  You know, reason with them and show them how cool she is so they will forget they were ever trying to cause her harm.  Did I mention that she’s possibly one of the most naive people I’ve ever met? Oh, but I do love her so.  I might even love her more because of these strange ideas.  She’s great.  I’ll keep her around.

Sometimes her ideas and false confidence even help me! Like in the case of these vegetable kebabs.  We had never grilled a single thing in our entire lives.  I had been watching people (ok, my mom) prepare things on the grill recently so that I could tackle it myself. So the afternoon that we started our first adventure in grilling, I asked Heather, “Are you pretty confident in our ability to grill this meal and not screw it up?” Her answer: “I’m totally confident.” Ok, then! Let’s do it!  That gave me the confidence I needed to get this meal started!

As you can probably gather, I wouldn’t be writing this post if the meal was a fail.  We successfully grilled these kebabs to perfection, on a charcoal grill, no less!  I must say that Heather was little help.  She was more interested in taking pictures of tiny flowers and grass and my youngest child eating grass and random teenage-like picture of herself than the actual cooking portion.  In fact, at one point I yelled at her to stop being silly and watch our kids who were running cluelessly around the grill and making me a nervous wreck.  I did.  I yelled.  They were making me so nervous!!

I write all this to say that even though she wasn’t the most helpful during the grilling part, I would not have had the guts to do it without her.  She was immensely helpful in boosting confidence and making the new experience (new experiences normally makes me very anxious, by the way…. yeah, I have issues, so what?) an enjoyable one.  Once our finished product was off the grill, I was so proud of our accomplishment! They were so delicious and easy! If you’ve never grilled before, give these a shot.  Trust us, it’s hard to screw them up.  If we didn’t, you won’t.

-Melissa

Vegetable Kebabs

The amount of ingredients you will need will depend on the amount of people you are serving so no specific amounts are given here. We used 1 red pepper, 2 zucchini, 1 onion, and 1 container of mushrooms to feed 2 adults and 2 toddlers.

Ingredients:

Italian Dressing (we used the semi-homemade packet of Zesty Italian Dressing, per my mom’s recipe)
Zucchini
Mushrooms, whole
Red Peppers
Red Potatoes
Onions

Directions:

  1. Make Italian dressing according to package or use your favorite Italian dressing.
  2. Put a pot of salted water on the stove to boil. Once boiling, toss red potatoes in for 10-15 minutes, until almost fork tender.  Don’t get them all the way done or they will fall apart on the skewers. Once potatoes are almost done, drain and set aside.
  3. Chop zucchini, red peppers, and onions, into bite sized pieces that will easily fit onto a skewer. Make sure they are all relatively the same size to ensure even cooking.
  4. Marinate all vegetables in the Italian dressing for at least 2 hours.
  5. Soak skewers in water for 10 minutes.  This prevents them from catching fire on the grill.
  6. Assemble the vegetables on the skewers.
  7. Grill the kebabs uncovered, turning one-quarter turn ever 2-3 minutes to ensure even cooking, until the vegetables are fork tender and cooked through, about 10 minutes. Transfer to a serving platter and serve immediately.

Source: Melissa’s mama

One response to “Vegetable Kebabs

  1. […] this summer.  Unfortunately, there have been some pit falls.  It started off strong with these veggie kebabs and then grilling pizza (recipe to come… once we get pictures of a pizza we didn’t […]

Leave a Reply

