Kids in the Sink

Ginger Lemon Orangeade

on March 21, 2012

Fun fact about me (Heather) #1: I want a quiverfull. Like, at least 10 kids. A lot. I want my own basketball team. Or football team. Or whichever is biggest.

Fun fact about me #2: I really love pregnancy. And even more than pregnancy, I love labor and delivery. I love the big belly and the contractions and the anticipation and the miracle of it all. I absolutely look forward to contractions, pain and all.

Fun fact about me #3: Pregnancy is really kind of horrible on me. Now, I’ve only had 2 kids so far so I guess it could change. But with both of them, I have had extremely bad morning sickness that left me drained and in bed. The kind where you can’t even hold down liquids and you lose a lot of weight. The kind where you try EVERYTHING that you can find on Google and none of it works to abate the nausea and vomiting.

Fun fact about me #4: I didn’t know about ginger syrup when I was pregnant the first two times. But I do now.

As we were making this, we thought how good this would be for settling stomachs. And I thought, where was this stuff when I was pregnant!? We decided that it was imperative that we remember for the next time.

Aside from its medicinal qualities, this drink is really yummy. All of the ingredients are natural and homemade, which makes it a great treat for our kids. We have only recently discovered the joy that is homemade lemonade and have since started experimenting with different flavors and we found this to be really refreshing. The ginger isn’t overpowering, but does give it a nice spice. It’s simple to make and something that the whole family really enjoys. Seeing as how it’s already 80˚ in March here in North Carolina, we are expecting to be drowning in summertime heat soon and this drink will be perfect for those lazy summer days to come.

-Heather

Ginger Lemon Orangeade

Ingredients:

For the Ginger Lemon Orangeade:

3/4 cup orange juice (fresh-squeezed)
1/2 cup lemon juice (fresh-squeezed)
1 3/4 cups water
1/2 cup ginger syrup (recipe below)

For the Ginger Syrup:

3/4 cup grated ginger
2 cup sugar
1 1/2 cup water

Directions:

  1. For the Ginger Syrup: place ginger, sugar, and water into a pot on medium heat until the sugar dissolves.  This just takes a minute or two once the water is hot.
  2. Remove from heat and let steep for 15 minutes. Strain and let cool.
  3. For the Ginger Lemon Orangeade: combine all ingredients in a pitcher and stir.  Refrigerate until cold and serve with ice.

Source: Kids in the Sink original, syrup from The Chew

One response to “Ginger Lemon Orangeade

  1. […] [Source] Share this:TwitterFacebookPlusRedditLinkedInTumblrPinterestStumbleUponDiggJ'aimeJ'aime  article […]

Leave a Reply

