Kids in the Sink

Faith Friday + Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups

on February 17, 2012

Heather and I have been going to a small group meeting at church recently called Restoring the Foundations.  It’s a small group dealing with healing and who doesn’t need some healing?  No matter how damaged you are or aren’t, everyone has been through some stuff and could benefit from healing.  Something that stood out to me this week was about discernment.

I often have trouble, as I think a lot of people do, about discerning whose voice I’m hearing.  Ok, maybe that sounds a little crazy.  Not like crazy people voices but when I’m praying or just trying to hear from God, sometimes I can’t tell if it’s Him, me, or Satan.  Our small group leaders noted that there are only two Kingdoms and you must be hearing from one or the other.  Not sure about you, but I want to be sure which one I’m hearing from! They said we need to make sure we are able to discern between God and Satan.

That’s where Heather and I both thought, “Are they going to teach us that!?”  Later, as I was praying about it, I believe I heard my answer.  God made it really simple for me and said that if I wasn’t hearing something that was in line with what the Bible says, then it isn’t Him.  It doesn’t get much clearer than that, right? Praise God for spelling things out! Sometimes that’s just what I need because this world can get awfully loud.

Maybe that seemed simple but it was ground-breaking for me because I constantly feel like I’m hearing from Him and then realize, “Wait, that’s not what the Bible says.”  You see, friends, God doesn’t contradict Himself.  He isn’t going to tell you something that is the opposite of what you read in the Word. It’s also very important to note that when you figure out who you really are hearing from, if it isn’t God, then just shut it down immediately with a quick and assertive (and yes, out LOUD), “Shut up! In Jesus name!” Do it.  You’ll feel better afterwards!

We hope this simple little revelation is helpful to you as well.  And while you’re busy discerning, maybe whip up a batch of these chocolate peanut butter cups. They really are just as good as those candies in the orange wrapper with cursive yellow letters.  I take that claim quite seriously since that’s one of my favorite candies in all the land.  For real, make these.

-Melissa

Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups

Makes 24 peanut butter cups

Ingredients:

2 cups chocolate chips
¾ cup Peanut Butter with Honey (we used Peter Pan brand)
¼ powdered sugar
Fleur de Sel for sprinkling on top of finished peanut butter cups

Directions:

  1. Mix together peanut butter and powdered sugar in a small bowl. Set aside.
  2. Place 24 mini muffin liners in a mini muffin pan. Set aside.
  3. Melt chocolate chips in a microwave safe bowl, 30 seconds at a time, until melted and smooth when stirred.
  4. Place ½ teaspoon of melted chocolate into each mini muffin liner and refrigerate for at least 10 minutes until hardened.
  5. Once the chocolate as chilled, put one teaspoon of peanut butter mixture into each cup.
  6. Top cups with remaining melted chocolate and sprinkle with a scant pinch of fleur de sel and return to refrigerator until set.

*These can be left in the refrigerator and that’s how we prefer them or they can be left out at room temperature on the counter for you to enjoy every time you walk past.  We won’t judge you either way.

Source: slightly adapted from Weelicious

One response to “Faith Friday + Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups

  1. […] Inspired by our previous post on Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

Leave a Reply

