Kids in the Sink

Blueberry Lemon Ricotta Muffins

on February 14, 2012

Do you ever make lasagna and then realize a few days later that you have leftover ricotta cheese to use? I only ever buy ricotta cheese in 16 ounce containers and I’ve only ever used half of that for a lasagna.  As a result, every time I make something like that and have ricotta left over, I have these muffins in mind!

Last week I had one of those “I need to use the ricotta before it goes bad!” moments because I am so dedicated to not wasting or throwing things away.  Almost to a fault.  But that’s not necessarily a bad thing because we Americans are so wasteful! I have selfish reason for being this way.  It’s because I’m cheap.  We’ll call me thrifty, though.  That’s a nicer term for cheap.  I can’t stand the idea of throwing food away and watching that money I worked so hard for just go straight into the trash. Alright, I’ll get down from my soapbox now.

The first time I saw this recipe, I probably turned my nose up at it.  It’s a little weird using cheese in a sweet muffin.  I knew I liked lemon and blueberry together though so I decided to give them a shot.  I’m sooooooooooo glad I did.  These muffins are sweet, just a tiny bit tart, and so yummy with fresh (or frozen) blueberries in the mix.  You definitely can’t taste the ricotta but it adds a certain texture to the muffins that is irresistible.

So here’s my advice to you: go make some lasagna.  A couple days later, as your lasagna leftovers are dwindling, see the half-used ricotta cheese container in the fridge.  Run (don’t walk!) to the pantry and make sure you have the rest of the ingredients and make these muffins! Your taste buds will thank you.  And you’re not wasting.  Your wallet will thank you and you’ll feel good about yourself.  What a great way to start the day.  Happy muffin-making, folks.

-Melissa

Blueberry Lemon Ricotta Muffins

Makes 12 large muffins

Ingredients:

2 cups all-purpose flour
½ cup granulated sugar
2 ½ tsp baking powder
½ tsp salt
1 cup ricotta cheese (we used low-fat)
½ cup milk (skim works, we cut the calories wherever we can)
1 stick unsalted butter, softened (this is NOT where you cut the calories, don’t mess with this)
2 large eggs
Zest and juice of 1 lemon
1 cup fresh blueberries (frozen works too)

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400° and spray a muffin tin with cooking spray or line with paper liners
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder and salt.
  3. In the bowl of your stand mixer, fitted with the paddle attachment, slowly mix together the ricotta cheese, milk, and butter.
  4. Add the eggs, one at a time, scraping the sides of the bowl with a rubber spatula after each addition.
  5. Add the lemon zest and juice and mix until combined.
  6. On low speed, gradually add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients just until it comes together.
  7. Gently add the blueberries, mixing by hand with a rubber spatula.
  8. Divide batter evenly into 12 muffins and bake for about 25 minutes.
  9. Let cool for 10 minutes in pan and then transfer to a wire rack.

Source: just barely adapted from The Curvy Carrot

One response to “Blueberry Lemon Ricotta Muffins

  1. Ooohhh!! Got some lemons marked down yesterday that I can use too! I’m cheap, ahem, I mean thrify too, lol! Great post and I love the pictures!

Leave a Reply

