Kids in the Sink

Vegan Carrot Cherry Breakfast Cookies

on February 7, 2012

Heather makes fun of me sometimes.  Sure, I make fun of her too but sometimes she says things that make me think, “Dang… burn.” So the other day I was washing dishes and I asked (admittedly) a stupid question.  You see, I grew up with a dishwasher.  I never lived in a home without a dishwasher and therefore, never actually had to use soapy water and a cloth to wash dishes.  So I asked her something about how she washes dishes when she runs across something that’s hand-wash only.  She was polite enough and answered my question.  The burn moment didn’t come until a few days later when she randomly said, “The other day when you asked how to wash dishes with soap and water, I thought to myself ‘that’s the stupidest question I’ve ever heard in my life,'” to which I responded, “So… how often do I say things that you think are the stupidest thing you’ve ever heard and not say that?”

That’s a valid question! When someone thinks you’re stupid, they should at least have the decency to tell you! Things have been a bit strained between us since then.  Except not really. I just occasionally get on her nerves by asking if what I just said was the stupidest thing she’s ever heard.  But that’s how we roll.  We get on each others nerves from time to time. It’s cool.  We’ll always be the best of friends! *Doesn’t  this make me sound mean? I think I’m sensing some underlying hostility here. Melissa doesn’t know I’m writing this by the way. Sneaky, sneaky.*

None of that has anything to do with these breakfast cookies.  It was just a fun little aside (or not, you be the judge) about our day-to-day life.  A story that doesn’t even involve the children! Gasp! But alright, about the breakfast cookies.

You read that right.  Cookies for breakfast.  I have to admit something, though.  It’s kind of a farce.  This particular “cookie” is vegan, has vegetables, fruits, and raw grains in it.  That’s pretty much what drew me to it though because I’m all about adding some nutrition into any type of treat.  I liked the idea of all these different flavors pulled into one cookie and how nutritious it would be! Plus, I recently discovered how much I like raw millet in baked goods. It gives it a different texture and a nutty kind of crunch that keeps you wanting more.  Give it a shot and let us know what you think!

-Melissa

Breakfast Cookies

Makes about 1 dozen large cookies

Ingredients:

1 ½ cups whole white wheat flour
1 cup old-fashioned oats
3 tbsp dry millet
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp baking powder
½ tsp salt
½ cup coconut oil, melted
½ cup pure maple syrup
1 cup shredded carrots
½ cup dried cherries
2 teaspoons fresh grated ginger

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350° and line a large baking sheet with parchment or spray with cooking spray.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together all dry ingredients. Set aside.
  3. In a medium bowl, whisk together coconut oil, maple syrup, carrots, cherries, and fresh ginger.
  4. Add wet ingredients to the large bowl of dry ingredients and mix together with a wooden spoon (or your hands) until well combined.
  5. Let dough stand for 5 minutes.  Shape into a dozen round, slightly flattened cookies and place onto prepared baking sheet. The cookies should not be much thicker than ½ inch.
  6. Bake for 12-15 minutes or until slightly browned.  Cool on wire rack.

Source: Slightly adapted from Joy the Baker

Leave a Reply

