Kids in the Sink

Sixty-Minute Dinner Rolls

on January 30, 2012

I am a notoriously unorganized and scatter-brained person. I can’t keep a schedule, I’m forgetful, I misplace things, and my days are just overall crazy.

Plan something? Forget it. I can try to plan and schedule all I like but the stars just don’t align for me in that area. I get sidetracked. I see something shiny and forget what I was doing.

This is why I never have butter and eggs at room temperature and why, when 4:00 rolls around and I realize I was supposed to making bread with dinner, I don’t have time to let things rise for 10 hours.

I decided to go out on a limb and search for a dinner roll recipe that was quick. I wasn’t holding out much hope and when I found one, I was skeptical. The dough came together easy enough and with two quick 15 minute rises, it was ready in about an hour.

They looked great when they came out of the oven, but I was still a little scared about how they would taste seeing as they didn’t take very long to throw together. Everyone in the house, though, loved them. My husband even told me that my rolls were better than some he had recently while out. I think that was a score. I slathered these with melted butter right when they came out and do you know what was even better? Warming them up the next day and spreading them with salted butter and a drizzling of honey. Hello carbs.

So, next time you find yourself being a total spaz like me, make these rolls. And they will make you happy.

-Heather

Sixty-Minute Dinner Rolls

Ingredients:

½ cup milk
¼ cup sugar
2 tsp salt
3 tbsp butter
3 packages of dry active yeast
1 ½ cups warm water
5 – 6 cups all-purpose flour

Directions:

  1. In a small saucepan, stir milk, sugar, salt and butter together. Heat over low heat until the butter melts and the sugar dissolves. Cool until the mixture is lukewarm.
  2. Dissolve the yeast in warm water in the bowl of your stand mixer. Add lukewarm milk mixture and 4 1/2 cups of flour to the yeast mixture, and mix on low speed for about 1 minute with the dough hook attachment.
  3. While the mixer is still going, add the remaining flour 1/2 cup at a time, and mix until the dough starts to clear the sides of the bowl, about 1 1/2 minutes.
  4. Knead on low for about 2-3 more minutes, until smooth and elastic. The dough will be slightly sticky to the touch.
  5. Place the dough in a greased bowl and turn to grease the top. Cover the dough with a clean, dry towel and place in a place free from drafts to let rise for 15 minutes.
  6. Grease 2 muffin pans and set aside.
  7. Turn the dough onto a lightly floured surface and divide into 24 equal pieces. Form each piece into a ball and place into the greased muffin pans. Using kitchen shears, cut each ball in half, and again into quarters and return to the muffin pan.
  8. Cover the muffin pan with the dish towel and let rise for 15 minutes.
  9. Bake at 425º for 12 minutes, or until the rolls are golden brown. Remove from pans immediately and cool on a wire rack. At this point, if you want to, you can brush the tops with melted butter. I always recommend melted butter.

Source: Erin Cooks

3 responses to “Sixty-Minute Dinner Rolls

  1. Erin Nichols says:

    Thanks for the link back to me. Your rolls came out great! I Love the last image with oodles of melty butter. This recipe has also saved my procrastinating skin so many times that it’s not even funny.

  2. Butter AND honey! Can’t go wrong that way, right?? Thanks so much for the recipe! We love sharing great things with our readers!

  3. […] Sixty-Minute Dinner Rolls – Dinner rolls. In 60 minutes. That taste like regular rolls that take forever to rise and rise and rise again. What else do we need to say? […]

Leave a Reply

