Kids in the Sink

Cheese Crackers

on January 30, 2012

If you saw Pilot’s birthday party post then you saw these crackers. They were my absolute favorite thing to make for the party! These crackers aren’t something I just made for the party. I’ve been making them for about a year now.

If you know much about us, you know that we’re all about making things from scratch as much as possible. This happened when our kids were born and started consuming food. I shudder to think about when Bailey was starting to snack, I ran out and bought a bag of baby goldfish crackers. Ok, they’re not horrible. They’re not even one of the worst things out there, by far. But still, I had worked so hard to make her baby food homemade, I figured why not make all of her snacks (and a lot of mine) homemade too? So that’s what I set out to do and it started with these very cheesy crackers.

They couldn’t be easier to make, which is quite a sigh of relief when you’re trying your hand at making something like crackers for the very first time in life. The recipe calls for the use of a food processor. When I first made them, before I was really a foodie who got super excited about kitchen appliances and gadgets, I didn’t have a food processor. No problem, just use your hands. It was good enough for me, I’m not an uppity foodie. If you’re an uppity foodie who stares at this post in disgust when I suggest using your hands, you’re probably not in the right place. Just sayin…

You can cut them out any way you want (ABC’s are super cute!) or just cut them into squares, which is what I do most of the time because it’s simpler. As a result of this recipe, we haven’t had a single bag of goldfish crackers in this house in many moons. We hope you and your little ones enjoy!

-Melissa

Cheese Crackers

Ingredients:

1 ½ cups of grated cheddar cheese (I used the food processor for this too)
4 tbsp butter
½ cup whole wheat flour
¼ cup all-purpose flour
⅛ tsp salt

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350° and line a cookie sheet with parchment.
  2. Combine all ingredients in food processor and run on high until the dough forms a cohesive ball.  This takes about a minute in my food processor but it may vary.
  3. Lightly flour a working surface and rolling pin and roll the dough out to ⅛ inch thick.
  4. Here’s where you can either cut them out into cute shapes or just cut them with a knife into squares.
  5. Carefully transfer the cut out crackers to the cookie sheet.  If you have squares or bigger cut outs, prick each cracker with a fork to allow some of the air to escape so they crunchy instead of puffy.
  6. Bake for 12-15 minutes or until lightly browning on the edges.  It’s easy to burn them so keep a close eye!
  7. Cool on a wire rack.

Source: barely adapted  from Smitten Kitchen

2 responses to “Cheese Crackers

  1. Paula says:

    Yummy- I love these little cheese crackers! Where did you get your cookie cutters? What a great way to work with your kids on their letters! They can have their school and eat it too 🙂

  2. I bought a big box of 101 cookie cutters and it included all the letters, numbers, and a lot of random holiday ones at Bed Bath and Beyond or some place like that for only around $10! They’re plastic and cheap but they serve their purpose and the kids like playing with them too.

Leave a Reply

