Kids in the Sink

Faith Friday + A Dessert

on January 27, 2012

Yesterday there was a bit of an accident. A head injury, actually. You see, it’s nice and warm outside here in NC and we were letting the kids enjoy the beautiful weather. I (Melissa) had just said how great it was for them to be outside playing for two reasons: because it’s good for them and because then they’re not destroying the sound quality of the house.

No sooner had those words left my mouth before we heard the scream. You know the one, the scream where you know that baby is hurt. We rushed outside and for a second we wondered where the blue dye on Bailey’s forehead had come from. We quickly realized it wasn’t dye, but an instant, horrible goose-egg.

We were pretty calm about it because Pilot gets head injuries weekly (his head is in the 99th% so ya know, it’s bound to happen) and we figured she had fallen up the stairs. Yep, up the stairs. Because Bailey is good like that. After the Elmo ice-pack had been applied and she was calming down, I got out of her that she had not fallen on the stairs. She had, instead, hit her head on a jagged concrete rock out by the back of the house. That’s when we both gasped and all of the disastrous scenarios that could have happened ran through our heads. We both felt like crying and throwing up simultaneously. As we write this, it still makes us shudder.

It wasn’t until a few hours later when we were recounting the event with her daddy, Mike, that we realized we hadn’t yet praised God for keeping our little one safe. While it was gross, it could have been much, much worse and we thanked God that it wasn’t.

How often do we forget to praise Him in the moment? We forget a lot. We’re working to train ourselves to praise Him immediately, during the good and the bad. Clearly, yesterday we failed, but thankfully our God is a forgiving and patient God. So often we turn toward ourselves or some other worldly thing when we should be turning straight to God in every situation, good or bad. So remember, today and every day, to praise Him. Praise Him when it’s good and praise Him when it’s bad. Praise Him when it’s hard, and when it’s easy. Praise Him when you’re happy, and even more, when you’re sad. Because He is a faithful God and deserving of everything we have and all of our praise.

P.S. These oatmeal cream pies=obsessed. It’s a problem to have them in the house. They are everything you could ever want from Little Debbie and more. Make them. Immediately. Eat them. Immediately. Praise Him for your taste buds. Immediately.

-Heather and Melissa

Oatmeal Cream Pies

Ingredients:

Cookie:

1 cup unsalted butter

¾ cup dark brown sugar

½ cup sugar

1 tbsp molasses

1 tsp vanilla

2 eggs

1 ½ cups flour

½ tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

⅛ tsp cinnamon

1 ½ cups quick oats

Cream Filling:

2 tsp very hot water

¼ tsp salt

1 (7 oz.) jar marshmallow cream

½ cup shortening

⅓ cup powdered sugar

½ tsp vanilla

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350° and line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.
  2. In the bowl of your stand mixer, cream the butter, sugars, molasses, vanilla, and eggs.
  3. In a medium bowl, combine the flour, salt, baking soda, and cinnamon.
  4. Add the dry ingredients to the creamed mixture and stir to combine; mix in the oats.
  5. Drop tablespoon sized scoops onto the cookie sheet and bake for 10-12 minutes, until just starting to brown around the edges. Be careful not to overbake them; they will look moist.
  6. While the cookies are baking, in a small bowl, dissolve the salt in the hot water and allow to cool to room temperature.
  7. Combine the marshmallow cream, shortening, powdered sugar, and vanilla and mix on high until fluffy.
  8. Add the salt water and mix well.
  9. Spread the filling onto the flat side of one cookie and top with another. There you have the most delicious sandwich cookie known to man.

Source: The Craving Chronicles

108 responses to “Faith Friday + A Dessert

  1. Paula says:

    Can’t wait to try these!!

  2. Morgan says:

    Yum! I will definitely be making these. 🙂 Glad your little one was ok. 🙂

  3. Gretchen says:

    I just made these. They taste great but don’t look too appealing since they stuck to the paper. The kids love them just the same!!

  4. Michelle C says:

    Could you make this with Gluten Free Flour and have them come out the same? I am new to Gluten Free Foods but these look and sound amazing and would love to try them!

    • We’re not really familiar with gluten free stuff at all but why not give it a shot? We can’t vouch for the results but let us know how it comes out if you decide to make it! They’re worth the effort, that’s for sure.

    • Sandy says:

      You can use a flour called “cup for cup”. It’s gluten free but you can use like regular flour. You may Need to order it off the Internet.

  5. Lisa says:

    Thanks! We’re about to make them right now for our daughter’s birthday party at school tomorrow. One question: How many does this recipe make?

  6. It depends on how big you make them but if I remember right, it made approximately 20 cookie sandwiches. We hope they turn out great for you!

  7. It’s very likely I will eat all of these once I am done. Holy yumminess!!

  8. Jenna says:

    I knew I had to make these the second I saw them on Pinterest. So since I had some downtime waiting on this baby to come (I’m 3 days overdue) and I happened to have all the ingredients at my house, I just whipped them up. Literally. These were so easy to make and they are delicious. It’s going to take a lot of will power to not eat every single one of them. Delicious!

  9. […] Kids in the Sink – Oatmeal Cream Pies Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

  10. A00 says:

    The minute I saw these I sent my husband to the store for molasses. The diet can wait a few days….

  11. […] *Slightly adapted from Kids in the Sink […]

  12. bethabee says:

    We made these tonight & the cookies turned out disappointingly salty. I used Quaker instant oatmeal packets because that’s what I had on hand — do you think that’s why? Maybe it’s a good thing, though… it stopped me at one. Otherwise I could potentially do a lot of damage. 🙂

  13. bethabee says:

    We made these tonight & they turned out disappointingly salty. I had instant Quaker oatmeal packets on hand, so that’s what I used for oats — do you think maybe that’s why? It may be a good thing, though… it stopped me at one. I may half the recipe if we try again. I can’t be trusted with that many delicious cookies! 🙂

    • I would say the instant packets are definitely the culprit. There is a lot of sodium in those packets to preserve them and make them have some flavor. When we made them there was a hint of salt but it wasn’t overpowering at all, just enough to make them tasty. That’s such a bummer though. PLEASE try them again though, it’s so worth it! We know what you mean about doing too much damage with the whole batch so why not take them to work or share with friends??

      • bethabee says:

        I’m sure you are right… I should’ve thought about that! Oh, well — live and learn. 🙂 They are on my agenda to make again next weekend!

  14. Amy says:

    Can you use light brown sugar instead of dark?

    • Sure! Dark brown sugar just has a stronger molasses flavor than light, but you can pretty much substitute light for dark anytime. We often do because we usually have light instead of dark brown sugar on hand. Hope you enjoy them!

  15. Vanessa says:

    For gluten free, I’d recommend almond flour. It usually substitutes great in any recipe without a binder needed. That’s what I’ll be using when I try these tomorrow!

    • Great! Thanks for the suggestion!

      • Kathy says:

        I just now made these gluten free and they’re great! I only found gluten free oats in the old fashioned rolled variety so I chopped them just a bit in my mini food processor. I used Authentic Foods Multi Blend flour which comes with it’s own xanthan gum and is super ground so it’s more fine than the regular rice flour blends. It all turned out just fantastic! I have to keep them til tomorrow when I’m taking them to work for my birthday treat for everyone. I’m going to put them in an air tight rubber made container, I hope they don’t get all gooey or soggy…

      • Yay! So glad you shared this with us for our GF readers!

      • Kathy says:

        Oh, I need to add to my comment that’s just below here. Although Authentic Foods Multi Flour Blend comes with it’s own xanthan gum i did add another 1/4 tsp.

  16. Taylor says:

    Can I substitute marshmallow fluff for the marshmallow cream?

  17. Beth says:

    The cookies look great and I can’t wait to try them but I have to tell you that I appreciate your testimony of God more. Thanks for the recipe and the reminder!!

  18. Wean says:

    Loooved this recipe!! I made them yesterday for a 60th birthday party & they were a HUGE hit!! Thank you!!
    As for the salt comment earlier, I would recommend making sure to use unsalted butter. Also, I lined my container w/fresh parchment paper & again between each layer of cookies.
    Thank you!

    • I’m so glad you liked them! You are totally right about using unsalted butter! We went back and changed that in the recipe to be more specific. We definitely want everyone to be able to enjoy these in all of their glory without any problems! 🙂

    • Colleen says:

      I wrapped them in sarah wrap and put them in the FREEZER!!! OH SO YUMMY….I always freeze my store bought Little Debbie oatmeal cream cookies too! 🙂

      • I never thought about that but I (Melissa) also love frozen desserts! Why didn’t I think of that before!?

      • Ashley says:

        Do you know if they are just as good after they thaw out too? I’m thinking of doing these as party favors but would love to be able to make them in advance!

      • We’ve never done it, but our suggestion would be to freeze the cookies by themselves. We think that they would probably thaw fine, but weird things happen to frosting in the freezer sometimes. We would make the frosting fresh and assemble the a day before or the day of. Hope you enjoy them!

      • Colleen says:

        No need to thaw them out…..eat them frozen…they’re almost like a little ice-cream sandwich (albeit oatmeal, instead of chocolate cookie) . But i’m sure they’d be fine thawed as well. All my cookies that i freeze are fine thawed out…and the store-bought Little Debbie oatmeal creme cookies are fine IF I don’t eat them quick enough while still frozen. 🙂

  19. […] first Faith Friday post was our Oatmeal Cream Pies. It absolutely blows our mind that our first Faith Friday post STILL gets us the most hits, even […]

  20. […] these Oatmeal Cream Pies to take to a friend’s house last […]

  21. Lisa says:

    So wonderful to see someone give praise and thanksgiving to the Lord! He is a great and awesome God!! Thank you for your encouraging words!

  22. kelley says:

    what type of shortening would you recommend? Also, do you think using plain melted marshmallows instead of marshmallow cream would be ok?

    • We used Crisco vegetable shortening. In regards to the marshmallow, our first instinct is to say no. Marshmallow cream has additional ingredients that help keep it together. The melted marshmallow may be too runny and you may not be able to get the right consistency in your frosting. We haven’t actually tried it, though, so we can’t say for sure. Either way, we’re sure it’d be delicious, just maybe more messy? If you do try it, please let us know how it turns out! Thanks for reading and we hope you get to make these delicious treats soon!

  23. Lisa says:

    Interesting… While I’m caught up in craving these cream pies (I’m talking pregnancy-craving), mt toddler just fell down the stairs. Same thing, it could have been WAY worse. Thanks for reminding me to praise God in these moments:)

  24. chess book says:

    This is a great site! I came across it while taking a break from my work. I am now behind on my work, but as soon as I finish, I will be back to read some more.

  25. Aurelia says:

    looks like heaven!

  26. Alessandra says:

    I adore oatmeal cream pies but unfortunately where I live there is no such thing as marshmallow cream. Do you think I could put something else in the middle of these cookies, obviously changing the flavor, but still taste good? Loved this post, stumbled here from Pinterest.

    • Oh man! No marshmallow cream?! Are you sure?? It could be called marshmallow fluff too. Not sure what else would be good. A good buttercream frosting is good on almost anything, though. So maybe that? Or a cream cheese type frosting? Let us know what you choose and if it worked out!

    • Another idea that would be more time intensive and may or may not be worth it to you would be to make your own marshmallow cream. I’ve seen recipes floating around the Internet, although I’ve never tried one myself. I hope you get to enjoy these one way or another!

    • Colleen says:

      1 bag mini-marshmallows, microwaveable bowl, 1 stick butter….melt butter add marshmallows, stirring repeatedly until melted. whip with a mixer to make light & fluffy, and to cool it off….continue with the rest of the recipe. be sure the marshmallow mixture is cool, so it doesn’t melt the shortening.

  27. Missy says:

    Can I use something other than shortening?

    • We’ve heard that you can use butter and shortening interchangeably, but we’ve never tried it with this recipe, so we can’t vouch for it. We highly recommend the shortening, though 🙂

  28. kristen says:

    😦 just tried to make these and found out the very hard way you cannot substitute applesauce for the butter in attempts to make them a little less sinful for the waistline. I was too bummed out to try again so I will wait until tomorrow- just wanted to let anyone else know that may be thinking of trying that….just use the butter! We did 1/2 cup applesauce and 1/2 cup butter…..learn from my mistake -they will not form and run into one giant sheet cookie! I did sample a bite and it tasted amazing. I cannot wait to taste it with the ‘fluff’ inside 🙂

  29. […] in the Sink  has found a way to make these soft, creamy, and moist treats at home. This recipe for Oatmeal Cream Pies is sure to bring you happiness! The recipe features oats, cinnamon, molasses, and brown sugar to […]

  30. kristen says:

    We didn’t like these. The cookies were good but the inside you could taste that shortening :-/ We ended up going and getting a can of whipped vanilla frosting and they were good that way. Is there any substitute for shortening we can use instead? I want to love these!

    • Kathy says:

      When I made them I thought the same, so I add a few more TB of powdered sugar and a tad more lightly salted water and everyone seemed to think it was just right. All a matter of taste I’m sure…

  31. […] Cookie recipe from Kids in a Sink Tags: little debbie oatmeal creme pies, oatmeal creme pies « Cold Garlic & Sesame Soy […]

  32. Jessica says:

    I found this recipe on Pinterest and am so glad that I did! They turned out awesome! I didn’t want to buy an entire bottle of molasses so used syrup instead.

  33. Jennifer Brake says:

    Reblogged this on Dinner with Jennifer.

  34. Tracy says:

    THEY ARE TO DIE FOR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  35. Shelley Shand says:

    My 14 year old daughter made these today…they were totally awesome!! Better than a Little Debbie 👍

  36. Cara says:

    Your testimony was awesome! “Make them. Immediately. Eat them. Immediately. Praise Him for your taste buds. Immediately.” I laughed, then I shot off a quick thanks upstairs. You made my morning, and that’s BEFORE I made the cookies!!!

  37. Julie says:

    I found this recipe on Pinterest. We are having friends over for dinner tomorrow night, so I thought I would give this a try, made it exactly like the recipe. AMAZING! I always loved the Little Debbie Cookies and these are even better. I agree, don’t make these unless you can share them, take them to work, etc. If given the opportunity I would eat the whole batch. Thanks for the great cookies.

  38. Kathi says:

    I was thrilled to find this recipe! I just had one problem…my cookies were really thin and fragile…I made some the size of a tsp and tbs and they still baked really thin. Any idea what could have caused this? They taste delicious, I would just live for them to be more thick the next time I try them:) thanks for the recipe!

    • Unfortunately, the cookies are just kind of thin and fragile. That’s just how they are. I don’t think you necessarily did anything wrong. It’s just the way it’s supposed to be. Maybe you could try substituting your own favorite oatmeal cookie recipe and using the filling if you want a heartier cookie? Let us know how it turns out if you do!

  39. Judy says:

    Found this on Pinterest. They sound like whoopie pies with an oatmeal cookie instead of chocolate. Definitely adding them to my Pinterest dessert board!

    • They are definitely worth making! It’s similar to a whoopie pie, but the oatmeal cookie is thinner and more fragile than traditional whoopie pies, which usually have a thicker, more cake-like cookie. Still, just as delicious!

  40. Christy says:

    What about sorghum molasses, I honestly don’t know the difference, I received this as a gift from a southern girl friend, I also have dark corn syrup, maybe half of each? Thinking making these for my girls who are in their first week back to school. My youngest in kindergarten, has been to the ER twice for head bumps, she was fine both times so I connected with your story. Thanks for the reminder to praise God in all things.

    • We are Southern and we have heard of sorghum, but don’t actually know much about it. A quick search online says that sorghum and molasses can be used pretty interchangeably. Molasses may be a little heavier and sweeter than sorghum, but in baking, they can be used equally as well. That’s according to the Internet, not our experience. If you do try it out, we would love to know how they tasted!

  41. Shay says:

    I just made these and they were YUM-O!! My son said they are great! Oatmeal creme pies are my FAVE Little Debbie snack cake. These were super easy to make, and I’m definitely going to be making them again. Thanks for sharing!! I found you via Pinterest.

  42. Christine says:

    If you pop the whole tray of unbaked cookies into the freezer for about 10 minutes before baking, the cookies don’t spread out quite so much, thus rendering them less fragile. LOVE the cookies, meh on the filling. I bought a jar of Fluff to make the filling, then decided this morning to make a double batch. The grocery store I went to after church didn’t have the Fluff, only marshmallow cream. There is a distinct difference in the 2, with the Fluff being much stiffer. Didn’t much like the Crisco flavor of the filling, so next time I will try using 1/2 butter in filling.

  43. […] {Clockwise from top left: Moss + Issac via Ruffled| Virginia MacDonald via Style At Home| The Glitter Guide (original feature seems to have been removed)| Kids in the Sink} […]

  44. Kayti says:

    I may try them with butter. Shortening is just awful for you 😦

  45. The cookie was very tasty! Loved the texture and flavor. I found the filling to be quite tasteless, though. Not sweet with a watered down salty aftertaste.

  46. Mandie says:

    I just made this and what I did was flatten the cookie in my hands before placing them on the cookie sheet. They hardly spread. I also used old fashioned oats instead of quick oats. Instead of placing the whole old fashioned oats I crushed them with my hands so that they were partially pieces and partially a coarse powder. Although I cooked mine a little too long the cookie tastes very good. They would taste much better softer. Now for the filling I used 1/4 cup of butter and 1/4 cup of shortening and I think I will stick with just butter from now on. It gives the filling the taste of plastic. But other then that it was really good. Oh I also used marshmallow creme instead of the fluff. But the filling turned out very well. Thank you for this recipe.

    • Crissy says:

      If you follow the recipe exactly next time and bake them about 9 minutes, they should be soft. You should not have to flatten them at all, it is a very soft cookie dough and it spreads beautifully in the oven. I do agree with you on the 1/4 cup butter, 1/4 cup shortening thing though for the filling. Butter for flavor, shortening for stability. Oh and marshmallow creme and marshmallow fluff are the exact same thing, No difference.

  47. Lisa Quick says:

    this is absolutely FANTASTIC! I just made them for the first time and I personally think they are even better than the boxed kind! fantastic! With the recipe just as it is here, the cookies were soft and cake-like and the cream filling was a ringer for the familiar taste I was looking for. I will probably also use this filling recipe for whoopie pies. Thank you for sharing~

  48. Amy remke says:

    These are delicious & addictive. They are much better Little Debbie’s. I am making a batch for a high school bake sale & know they will sell once discovered. The frosting is amazing & I use the plain Crisco sticks in mine & premium vanilla.

  49. […] many things, though, because we’ve been known to make some homemade versions of things that rock. my. socks. off. That’s real talk, guys.  On the contrary, there are things that we […]

  50. Melissa Janpfette says:

    I made these, came out great. Used lite pancake syrup instead of molasses. Substituted butter for the shortening (1/2 cup) and omitted the salt water. Cooked in my convection oven at 325 for 8 mins. I did take another persons advice and put the scooped uncooked cookies that were on the cookie sheet in the freezer for a minute or two before baking. Layered the finished cookies with parchment paper to keep them from sticking to each other. Everyone loved them!! Thanks for the recipe.

  51. onemomstips says:

    I love these, cant wait to try the recipe! Great to try on a snowed in day.

  52. Hi Heather and Melissa, I blog over at http://www.ourstoryk.blogspot.com and wanted to let you know I shared this link to your oatmeal cream pies. I have already made them twice, they are awesome! Thanks! http://ourstoryk.blogspot.com/2012/10/care-packages-for-h-j.html

  53. Ellen Tinder says:

    I’ve made these quite a few times,I always use Crisco butter-flavored sticks for the filling and rolled oats for the cookies. They turn out great every time,grandkids can’t eat them fast enough.

  54. JJ Blandford says:

    These were so delicious! They are by far the best oatmeal cookies that I’ve ever made. Thanks for sharing!

  55. […] Melissa and she liked it, so we hashed out the details and posted our very first Faith Friday with oatmeal cream pies. Not long after that, one of us got the idea to start pinning our own recipes. Every day after […]

  56. […] I also made Oatmeal Cream Pies to send into work with Ben. It was hard to let them go! (Recipe here). […]

  57. Rachel says:

    I just made these and my filling is SUPER soupy. No firmness or whipped texture. Any idea what I did wrong?

    • One time I actually read the recipe as 2 cups of very hot water so that’s what I used. It was obviously wrong and ended up soupy, just like yours. Could you have used too much water? It’s only two teaspoons so if you used even two tablespoons it would mess it up. Sorry yours didn’t turn out but I soooo hope you try them again!

  58. Dawn says:

    Thanks for this recipe!! YUMMY!! They came out perfect. I think this is the first time I’ve ever made something that actually looked like the picture. The cookies are good just by themselves

  59. […] [donotprint]Source: Cookie recipe from Kids in a Sink[/donotprint] […]

  60. Cassandra says:

    Hi. I want to make these, but I
    Not sure what you mean by “shortening”. Is this crisco?

  61. Make Something Mondays says:

    Holy cow! These look amazing! Pinning it for sure.

  62. Sarah says:

    Holy crap these are good. Prepare yourself for a sugar high

  63. […] Click here for the Best Bake recipe […]

Leave a Reply

