Kids in the Sink

Chipotle Barbecue Sauce and a Sandwich

on January 26, 2012

I’m going to write a book. I going to write a book and it’s pretty much going to make me famous. Everyone that has some sort of man or man-child in their life is going to buy it and thank me for writing such a book. The New York Times will call me and tell me my book made it onto their best seller list and I will be pretty excited about it. I will get rich and won’t have to worry about which child doesn’t get to go to college.

Know what that book is going to be about? Men. Men and their microwaves.

Maybe it’s just my husband, but he is forever calling to ask that one question: How much do I put this on for?

I am not presently a book of knowledge on the exact times to cook or warm things up in the microwave. But he expects I am. If it does not come with clear, easy to read instructions, he is immediately lost. And here comes wife to the rescue.

So, I am going to write a book housing all the possible foods I can think of that need to be cooked or warmed up and I am going to list the times it will take to get those foods to an appropriate temperature that is neither too cold or too hot. (Because when he doesn’t ask me, his food is always fried. As in inedible.) I am going to organize this list in a man friendly sort of way, because they are kind of horrible at finding stuff, and I might even throw in a few recipes that are easy enough to follow. Maybe I’ll even make it pocket-sized.

*You may be wondering why these pictures look an awful lot like something you’d eat in the summertime. Well my friends, that is because here in North Carolina, the weather outside is sunny and warm. Summer is peeking its nose around the corner. In January. Soak it up!*

-Heather

 Chipotle Barbecue Sauce

2 tbsp olive oil
¼ cup chopped onion
1 clove garlic, minced
⅓ cup peppers and sauce from canned chipotles in adobo, minced
⅔ cup ketchup
¼-½ cup water
1 tbsp cider vinegar
1 tbsp spicy brown mustard
1 tbsp molasses
Black pepper
Pinch of salt

Instructions:

  1. In a medium sauce pan, heat oil over medium heat.
  2. Saute onions until soft and translucent, then add garlic and cook for 1 more minute.
  3. Add the minced chipotles and sauce to the pan.
  4. Stir in the ketchup, vinegar, mustard, and molasses.
  5. Thin with water until you reach your desired consistency and heat just until bubbles begin to appear.
  6. Season with salt and pepper to taste. (For a smoother sauce, let it cool and blend until smooth before transferring to container.)
  7. Transfer to a jar or airtight container and keep in the refrigerator for up to 2 weeks.

Source: Confections of a Foodie Bride

Crockpot Pulled Barbecue Chicken Sandwiches

This recipe is one of my family’s favorites, but it’s not really a recipe at all. We just put chicken breasts, frozen or thawed, into the crockpot with the desired amount of barbecue sauce and cook on high for 4-5 hours or on low for 7-8 hours. Done and done!

Leave a Reply

