Kids in the Sink

English Muffin Bread

on January 25, 2012

I’m pretty sure God hangs out in the kitchen. Well, my kitchen at least. Some nights after I’ve been particularly busy all day long, I have a massive load of dishes (not kids, ha) in the sink and those random things that have to be hand washed, or a million little sticky handprints all over everything that needs to be wiped down. It’s nights like these where God and I hang out in the kitchen.

Being able to pray and just talk to God while I do these menial chores makes it much more tolerable. I don’t love chores in the kitchen, but having a good friend to talk to while I do them is nice. Where in your house does God meet you the most?

On to the food… English muffin bread. I had never even heard of this bread until I read it on one of our favorite blogs and apparently it’s quite the popular bread. It was listed as a very forgiving bread, really hard to screw up. I’m so there. Since we’re still dealing with the learning curve of making yeast breads in the new Kitchen Aid’s we both got last year, forgiving bread recipes are our friend.

When I took this out of the oven, it looked a little funny to me. But the instructions said to add butter to the top while the loaves were still hot. That’s when I realized there was no butter, oil, shortening, etc. in the recipe itself. Woohoo for a low-fat bread! So I slathered butter on top of those bad boys and didn’t feel even a tiny bit bad about it. And when I had it for breakfast the next morning, I toasted it and slathered some more butter on it, and yep, you guessed it, still didn’t feel bad about it.

If you are reluctant to make yeast breads (like we were until very recently) for fear of screwing them up, this is the one to start with. Have the butter ready!

-Melissa

English Muffin Bread

Makes 2 loaves

Ingredients:

2 ¾ cups very warm water
1 ½ tbsp instant yeast (I only had active dry so I just proofed it with the sugar and 1 cup of water)
1 tbsp salt
1 ½  tbsp sugar
5 ¾ cups all-purpose flour

Directions:

  1. In the bowl of stand mixer, proof your yeast if you’re using active dry. If you’re using instant yeast as the recipe calls for, combine water, yeast, salt, and sugar.  Mix briefly to combine ingredients.
  2. Add half the flour and mix with the dough hook.  Scrape down the sides of the bowl with a wooden spoon. Add the rest of the flour and mix some more.  This dough will not clear the sides of the bowl or form a cohesive ball on the dough hook.  It’s a sticky mess.  But it’s ok, seriously, it turns out fine.
  3. Cover the bowl and let it rise until it’s doubled in size, about an hour.
  4. Grease two loaf pans with cooking spray.  Grease them good because this dough is super sticky.  Divide the dough evenly between the two pans and cover with greased plastic wrap and let sit again until doubled in size.
  5. Bake at 350° for 25-28 minutes until lightly browned on top.  Remove from pans immediately onto cooling racks and slather the tops with butter.

Source: Mels Kitchen Cafe

One response to “English Muffin Bread

  1. […] to eat it every day. I bought two pounds of brussels sprouts yesterday and I have three loaves of English Muffin Bread (I know, yet another shameless plug for this bread of ours but it is the best crusty bread for […]

Leave a Reply

