Kids in the Sink

(Meatball?) Pumpkin Spiced Baked Oatmeal

on January 21, 2012

Fall is over and winter is here and before we know it, spring will be on our doorstep. So, I am trying to hold on to pumpkin for as long as I can. I’m trying to fill myself up on pumpkin before the bounties of spring take its place.

Enter pumpkin spice oatmeal. My family are big fans of baked oatmeal. My husband and son can eat a whole pan in one breakfast. Lately we have been trying different fruits out in our baked oatmeal, but I found myself with a can of pumpkin staring at me and decided that it would make a great addition to baked oatmeal.

The result was very delicious. But the oatmeal, it’s nothing to look at. Some dishes are like that. They just aren’t pretty. Sometimes you can try really hard to make them look pretty, but that wasn’t the case with this oatmeal. You see, it looks kind of like meatballs. And maybe I could have made it look better, but I’ll let you in on a little secret: I took these pictures on the downlow.

My husband and I were getting ready to leave and we were in a rush. He got the kids dressed and while he took a shower, I was supposed to be getting myself ready. We were to leave promptly when he was done. So I knew I shouldn’t try to take pictures because I tend to become obsessed and have been known to take a few lot of minutes, but the opportunity was only going to present itself this once so I did it sneakily. And very quick. And I wasn’t pleased, but when I heard the shower turn off and realized I wasn’t dressed, I knew they would have to do.

So, I bring to you, pumpkin spice baked oatmeal on the dl. Oh, and don’t tell my husband.

-Heather

Pumpkin Spiced Baked Oatmeal

Ingredients:

2 cups old fashioned oats
¼ cup light brown sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
½ tsp nutmeg
Dash of cloves
1 tsp baking powder
¼ tsp salt
1 ½ cups milk
¾ cup pumpkin
1 tbsp melted butter
2 egg whites
1 tsp vanilla

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°. Spray an 8 x 8 baking dish with cooking spray and set aside.
  2. In a large bowl, combine the oats, brown sugar, spices, baking powder, and salt.
  3. In a medium bowl, whisk together the milk, pumpkin, butter, egg whites, and vanilla.
  4. Pour the wet ingredients over the dry ingredients and stir until combined. Pour the mixture into the prepared pan.
  5. Bake for 20 minutes, until golden brown and set. Remove and serve warm.

Source: inspired by Two Peas and Their Pod

Leave a Reply

