Kids in the Sink

Guacamole

on January 11, 2012

Mornings around here are crazy. Ok, the whole day around here can be crazy. That’s alright. That’s how we like it! Mostly.

Anyway, my morning routine is typically the same on the weekdays. Nurse Kale, make coffee (one of the most important things), change diapers, get the kids dressed, shower, breakfast, unload the dishwasher. This is where it starts to vary a bit. Around this time, Kale goes down for his first nap of the day and I sometimes take this time to drink coffee, eat whatever delicious breakfast treat I’ve made, and open up google reader to check out my favorite blogs. But sometimes around this time, Heather and her two munchkins show up on my doorstep and things move from semi-busy to chaotic. It’s cool though because like I said before, we like the chaos.

That’s what happened today. So as we were talking and getting back into our usual routine as the best friends that we are and our kids were wreaking havoc on my living room, Heather shared with me that she had been craving guacamole. Not just any guacamole. My guacamole. And what did I just happen to have on hand? Two very ripe avocados.

Remember a while ago when I bought 20 avocados because they were on sale at Sam’s? That happened again and I bought 15 more. Why the heck not? Don’t judge me.

Back to the guacamole. It’s only semi-homemade because I use store-bought salsa. I’ve made it with fresh-from-the-garden tomatoes and it was delicious but since it’s winter, Old El Paso Hot Salsa is how we roll. It’s great for a snack or even for lunch with some tortilla chips or a yummy cheese quesadilla. So go ahead, buy 35 avocados in a month’s time. Or just buy two. Either way, you should make this guacamole.

-Melissa


Guacamole

Ingredients:

⅛ tsp. garlic powder
¼ cup salsa
juice of one lime
2 avocados

Directions:

  1. Mash two avocados in a small bowl.
  2. Add garlic powder, salsa, and lime juice. Mix well.
  3. Get a bowl of chips and dig in!

Source: Kids in the Sink original


2 responses to “Guacamole

  1. […] generally take any occasion we can to make all our favorite foods.  We also made homemade salsa, my guacamole, chicken and cheese quesadillas, and taco dip for savory foods but we forgot to take a picture of […]

  2. […] however, take advantage of her stroke of genius and enjoy this dish with a side of chips and guacamole!  Perfect for this Saturday’s Cinco de Mayo […]

Leave a comment