Kids in the Sink

Kale Chips

on January 9, 2012

My son is notoriously picky. Like, it’s serious.

He is the kind of picky that keeps me up all night worrying about his health and well being. The kind of picky that frustrates me to no end. The kind of picky that has me saying extra prayers over his meals.

He is the kind of picky that eats peanut butter sandwiches, spaghetti, pizza, and anything sweet. The end.

He flees at the first sign of any vegetable and refuses to branch out and try new things. He’s been like that since about 1 and he’s about to be 2 years old.

But, I won with these. Oh, yes I did. He eats these green chips like they are going out of style.

Oddly enough, so did most of my family. These kale chips have pleased even the pickiest of eaters. They are crunchy and lightly salted and leave a taste in your mouth that makes you want to eat more. And, the best part, they are full of health!

So my friends, make these kale chips and snack on some health.

-Heather

P.S. As those of you who read our blog might know, Melissa’s sons name is Kale. I really could have taken this blog to a whole other level by implying that her son was being consumed by mine, but I felt that was maybe a bit too much for a food blog. So you’re left with this: Kale (not the baby) Chips. Snack on.

 Kale Chips

Ingredients:

1 bunch of kale
1 tbsp olive oil
Sprinkle of salt, to taste

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375°.
  2. Wash and remove the stems from the kale and cut the leaves into 2 inch pieces.
  3. Dry EXTREMELY well and divide the kale between two baking sheets leaving room between the leaves so that they aren’t overlapping.
  4. Toss the kale with olive oil and a bit of salt and bake for 18-20 minutes, rotating the pans halfway through cooking. Keep an eye on them for the last few minutes as each oven is different and burnt kale chips are sad.

Source: Weelicious

2 responses to “Kale Chips

  1. Norma Chang says:

    I read your comment on where you mentioned you hadn’t tried tofu until recently. I think your picky eater will like my Frozen Tofu Fried Rice and my Corn and Tofu Chowder. Go to my blog for the recipes.

  2. Beth Hill says:

    Just so you don’t lose hope, I have a son who was also an incredibly picky eater. If it didn’t have peanut butter or pizza in it, he was not going to eat it. That went on for a couple of years and then he went thru an A1 phase. He literally poured A1 sauce on everything…including fish sticks. Yuck. Now he is sixteen and eats just about everything in sight. So give your son a vitamin and enjoy knowing your grocery bill will someday skyrocket!!!!!

Leave a Reply

