Kids in the Sink

Apple Flax Seed Bread

on December 8, 2011

Let me tell you about this bread. It almost didn’t happen. Do you see these photos? They almost didn’t happen either. It was an adventure, this bread.

The power went out right as I had finished the batter for this bread and right as the oven had clicked to tell me it was done preheating. There was no storm. The bills were paid. So there was no good reason for the power to be going out. But it did. Twice.

After about 15 minutes it was Apple Flax Seed Bread round two. So I preheated the oven, again, and put the batter in the pan. And the power went back out. It came back on again after another 10 minutes or so and after preheating for a third time, I put the batter in and luckily there were no more surprise outages and the bread was baked.

But the pictures. Oh, the pictures. My husband lovingly closed my camera in the car door recently rendering it useless. So I just only have my camera phone. My bad, hard to work, camera phone. There was no helping these pictures. The only thing I could do for them was give them a 60’s look because cameras weren’t so good in the 60’s. See how I spun that to work for me? Sort of.

So, the bread. It’s an Apple Flax Seed bread. And it was very good. My husband ranked it his second favorite, with banana coming in first, and as evident in the photo above, Pilot liked it too. I don’t usually go for apples in baked goods, but I’m trying to broaden my taste buds and I think things may be starting to turn around for me. This bread is incredibly moist because of the addition of grated apples as well as apple chunks, and it is full of fall spices that make the kitchen smell incredible as it’s baking. It also has whole wheat flour and flax seeds added which help to make this bread not so bad for you.

Come around to the apple side with me and enjoy a slice.

-Heather

Apple Flax Seed Bread

Ingredients:

1 cup all-purpose flour
¾  cup whole wheat flour
¾  cup brown sugar, packed
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
½  tsp salt
1 tsp ground cinnamon
generous pinch freshly ground nutmeg
⅔ cup buttermilk
⅓ cup unsalted butter, melted and slightly cooled
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
1 cup grated apples (I used a combination of Granny Smith and Red Delicious, but any apple will do.)
½ cup chopped apples
1 tbsp flax seeds
cinnamon and sugar for sprinkling

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°.
  2. Grease and flour a 9×5 inch loaf pan and set aside.
  3. Grate 1 cup of apples and chop 1/2 cup of apples and set aside.
  4. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flours, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and spices.
  5. In a smaller bowl, whisk together the buttermilk, butter, vanilla, and eggs.
  6. Mix the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients until just combined. Add the grated and chopped apples and the flax seeds and fold until well incorporated.
  7. Pour batter into prepared pans and sprinkle the top with cinnamon and sugar. Use as much or as little as desired. I desired much.
  8. Bake for 40-50 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.
  9. Let cool in pan for 15 minutes and then let cool on wire rack completely before wrapping.

Source: barely adapted from Joy the Baker

Leave a Reply

