Kids in the Sink

Veggie Chili

on January 2, 2013

vegchili3Ok, yeah, hi.  We did it again.  Last year around the holidays, we kinda quit blogging for a hot minute.  Or a month. Whatever, who’s counting? This year, it happened again.  It hasn’t quite been a whole month, though! So that’s progress, folks. Progress, I say.  And really, there were good reasons.  Heather and her whole crew got the God forsaken virus known as the flu.  Bad.  Really, really bad.  And me? Well, um… I was busy worrying if my friend and my Godchildren would make it through to see another day in a flu-filled world.  Alright, alright.  I didn’t have as much of an excuse.  Except that I got lazy and I was really enjoying my time at home with my husband and kids.  Sue me.  It’s not like you missed us that much, anyway.  No bigs, because we’re back.

veggiechili1

How’s 2013 treating everyone?  2012 was the year I lost all the baby weight and then some.  And then December came and I gained back some of my “then some.”  I was really enjoying the lighter side, fitting into jeans I couldn’t even wear in high school.  So now that it’s January, I feel ready to jump back on the wagon and start eating right again.  Not a diet.  That’s silly and trendy and no, I’m not getting a gym membership.  I am, however, going to fill the tires on the double jogger stroller with air (again) and commit to eating healthy and exercising more.  You know we’re mostly healthy eaters around here.  We don’t count calories and we don’t restrict ourselves too much.  Everything in moderation, right?  The moderation part is the part I have trouble with.  But, God willing, I’ll get it figured out!

This chili is a great way to start off the new year. It’s super cold in most places right now, and even here in NC.  Who doesn’t love a nice warm bowl of chili to warm them up on a cold night?  I love this chili because it’s so simple, quick, and healthy.  Another huge plus in my book is that it freezes well, so I can take a single serving portion from the freezer and have a home made meal in minutes.  It’s a win, friends.  With a big dollop of greek yogurt, maybe a pinch of shredded cheese and a couple crackers, this is the way to start out your new year!  Happy New Year, everyone.  We missed you!

-Melissa

veggiechili2

Veggie Chili

Ingredients:

2 tbsp vegetable oil
1 large onion, chopped
3-4 celery stalks, chopped
4 cloves minced garlic
3 tbsp chili powder
2 bell peppers, seeded and diced (we prefer red, yellow, or orange because they’re sweetest)
1 zucchini, diced
1 squash, diced
1/2 tsp dried oregano
1/4 tsp cayenne
1 can stewed tomatoes
2 cups corn (frozen, canned, or fresh)
2 cups black beans (or one can, if not using homemade)
1/4 tsp salt

Directions:

  1. Heat oil in a large pot over medium heat.  Once hot, add onion, celery, garlic, and chili powder.  Saute until onions are almost translucent, about 5 minutes.
  2. Add bell peppers and saute for another 5 minutes.
  3. Add zucchini, squash, oregano, and cayenne and cook for another 5 minutes.
  4. Add tomatoes and cook another 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  5. Stir in corn, black beans and salt and cook at least another 5-10 minutes.  I like to to cook it a little longer to let the flavors meld together and let it the juices cook down a bit.  I probably cook it for a total of 45-50 minutes.

Source: A lady from some web forum somewhere on the internet back in 2007.  Sorry lady, I don’t know who you were.

4 responses to “Veggie Chili

  1. carallyne says:

    I will try this. I have a delicious veggie chili recipe I plan to give you one day.

  2. Jessica says:

    This looks great! I think I may even make it tomorrow. Even my carnivorous husband likes the sound of it. One question, though: is the can of stewed tomatoes the 14.5 oz. or 28 oz. size? Your loving cousin, Jess :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 135 other followers

