Kids in the Sink

Faith Friday + Oreo Truffles

on December 14, 2012

crackballs3

Now that I’m a stay at home mom, (Ahhhhhhhhh!!! My dream come true!) I decided to start waking up at 0’dark thirty when the husband gets up to read the Bible.  What’s wrong with me? I don’t know.  Whatever.  But I have to do it some time because if I waited until I have a free moment, that would be never.  The devil would win and that’s not good for business.  Do you have a routine for quiet time? Any tips for me?  I was struggling to figure out a good time and that’s what I came up with.

crackballs1

So anyway, this morning during my quiet time, I flipped open my Bible to Job.  I figured, that’s a good book to read again.  Wrong.  That book is sad!  I only read the first chapter and good grief, I was depressed.  Then I had to think about it a little more and really let it sink in.  God allowed Satan to test Job using all of his things, but wouldn’t allow him to actually lay a finger on Job himself.  God had such faith in Job, knowing that he wouldn’t falter or curse His holy name, even when everything he had in his life was taken away.  And guys, Satan really brought his A game.  Satan took all of his animals, which were his livelihood, and even his precious children.  But still, Job praised God.  Not just praised Him, but fell to his knees to praise Him! Wow.  Just wow.  Is anyone else feeling a little… guilty?

The thing Job remembered, even when it seemed like his life was being torn away from him, is that our God is sovereign.  Why would God allow such a thing to happen to such a faithful servant of His? Well, friends, that’s not for us to know.  That’s where faith comes in.  We have to believe that His plan is so much better than ours.  Like, SO much better!  It’s so easy to get bogged down by stuff.  When someone messes with our stuff, that’s when things get real.  We get serious. Seriously angry or depressed.  But do we ever get serious about praising Him when things get all messed up?  Do we ever throw ourselves down on our knees and just worship Him for what He is?  I’ve seen a few people in my life that praise Him even in the worst of storms, but it’s definitely not the norm.  It’s not our natural instinct.  It’s something we have to work at and ask God to improve in us.  It is what He expects of us, and I pray that during this Christmas season, we could remember that.

crackballs2

It’s so easy to get caught up in this “season” and make it about stuff.  This Christmas, if things don’t go exactly our way, let’s remember Job.  And not just because his story seems so tragic, but because he served the Lord the way that we all should.  He believed in God’s timing and never spoke a curse about it. I bet if we give that kind of faith a try, we would all benefit.  Happy weekend, friends.  Be blessed!

-Melissa

crackballs4

Oreo Truffles aka Oreo Crack Balls

Ingredients:

1 package Oreo cookies
1 (8 oz) package cream cheese, room temperature
12 oz semisweet chocolate
2 tbsp coconut oil (or shortening)

Directions:

  1. In a food processor or blender, process whole Oreo’s until they are finely ground. You could even put them in a plastic bag and bust out the rolling pin. Go old school. Either way, try to get them as finely ground and smashed as possible.
  2. Place ground Oreo’s into a large bowl with the cream cheese. Using a wooden spoon or your hands, mix until it is well combined and all of the crumbs are moistened.
  3. Using a cookie scoop or tablespoon, scoop out Oreo mixture and roll into balls. Place on cookie sheet and chill in refrigerator.
  4. While the truffles are chilling, place your chocolate chips and coconut oil in a small saucepan over low heat. Melt, stirring occasionally, until smooth and glossy. You could also do this in the microwave in 30 second intervals.
  5. When the chocolate is melted, take the truffles out of the refrigerator and  coat them in the chocolate. I used a spoon to coat them and picked them up with a fork, shaking off any excess chocolate. Return to refrigerator to chill until set. Store in an airtight container in refrigerator for 1-2 weeks. Seriously, they can last a while. But they won’t. Trust me.

Source: A recipe we found somewhere on the Internets a looooong time ago

3 responses to “Faith Friday + Oreo Truffles

  1. Thank you for posting this recipe!! I could’ve made a dozen of these when Heather made them for us last Christmas! They are awesome!

  2. Christine says:

    Love this recipe! It’s been a family favorite for years. On your quiet time – congratulations and hang in there! That’s the only time I had, too, when my children were little. It’s been a struggle at times but definitely very rewarding. Now, I wouldn’t think of starting my day any other way. Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 136 other followers

