Kids in the Sink

Brown Butter Glazed Banana Spice Muffins

on September 26, 2012

My poor kids.

Sometimes, I feel like the only fruit that they ever get are apples and bananas. Five points if you just sang that old kids song in your head about “oh-pples and bo-no-nos”. I know. Lame. I’m such a mom.

Anyways, sometimes, we just get into a fruit slump, and as a result of our endless supply of bananas, we seem to always have a few beginning to turn brown. I usually try making different banana bread recipes (because I have yet to find THE one. I’m picky and I like my banana bread moist.) or I make banana pancakes, but that gets boring. I should really start freezing all those ripe bananas for smoothies and for chocolate banana “ice cream”, but we all know I forget to do stuff like that. Easily distracted and all. Whatevs.

I saw these muffins on my Google reader a while back and I have been dieing to make them ever since. I like using whole wheat in my breakfast goods because it’s filling and healthy, so it was a real plus that these muffins are whole wheat. Nevermind that you dip them in a brown butter glaze after baking them. And nevermind that you’ll have some left over. And never-nevermind that you’ll decide to dip each bite of your already glazed muffin into the leftover glaze for maximum brown butter flavor. Nevermind all that.

Whole. Wheat. Read: healthy.

Yes? Good. I’m glad we’re all on the same page. That’s why work so well together. Enjoy!

-Heather

Brown Butter Glazed Banana Spice Muffins

Makes 12 muffins

Ingredients:

For the muffins:

2 cups whole wheat flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp cloves
1 large egg
1/3 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 cup unsalted butter, melted and cooled
2/3 cup milk
1 1/2 tsp vanilla
2 medium ripe bananas, mashed

For the glaze:

1/4 cup unsalted butter
1/2-3/4 cup powdered sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla
1 1/2 tbsp milk

Directions:

  1. For the muffins: Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line a muffin tin with paper liners. Set aside. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, salt, and spices.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together the egg and brown sugar until no lumps remain. Add the butter, milk, and vanilla and whisk until smooth. Stir in the mashed bananas.
  3. Slowly add the dry ingredients to the wet, stirring until just combined.
  4. Fill each muffin tin 2/3 of the way and bake for 15-18, or until tops are golden and a toothpick inserted comes out clean. Let cool in pan for a few minutes before removing to a cooling rack to cool until comfortable to handle.
  5. For the glaze: Heat the butter in a small saucepan over medium-high heat. Whisk frequently until butter melts and brown bits begin to form on the bottom of the pan and the most delicious, nutty aroma fills your kitchen. As soon as you see the brown bits form, remove from heat and let cool about 10 minutes.
  6. In a large bowl, whisk together the cooled brown butter, powdered sugar, vanilla until the mixture comes together. Add the milk a tablespoon at a time, whisking until you reach the desired consistency. Dip each muffin into the glaze and then again into the leftovers as you’re eating, and then lick the bowl clean and serve.

Source: How Sweet Eats

2 responses to “Brown Butter Glazed Banana Spice Muffins

  1. Cara says:

    I love reading your recipes–I laugh every time! Thanks for brightening my day.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 136 other followers

