Kids in the Sink

Black Bean, Corn and Mango Salad

on May 28, 2012

I am OB.SESSED. with all things black bean and corn and lime juice and cilantro.

I think I may be Mexican at heart. Melissa and I are kindred spirits in that we both love Mexican cuisine so much that we frequently fill up our menu with Mexican dishes, without even meaning to. Mexican dishes are just so easy to make and it’s rare to find dishes that are both easy and totally scrumptious.

But this combination, I could eat this flavor combination every day, all day,  no problem. It is just so fresh and delicious and perfect. Lately, I have been eating this as a side with chicken and seafood, but really, I think the possibilities are endless. Today, instead of waiting to take pictures, I made a quesadilla out of it. I’m telling you, it’s good on everything.

I tend to find myself struggling with side dishes, and this one is just so simple and easy to throw together. And it’s healthy!

Easy + healthy + tastes like a Mexican rainbow in your mouth = SCORE.

So go make this and try to control yourself. Or not. Because the rule is, if it’s healthy, you get to each as much as you want. Fact. That’s a real, factual rule. Enjoy!

-Heather

Black Bean, Corn and Mango Salad

Ingredients:

2 cups frozen or fresh corn
1 14 oz. can black beans, rinsed and drained
1 red bell pepper, seeded and chopped
1 ripe avocado, cut into 1/2 inch pieces
1 ripe mango, cubed
1/2 red onion, chopped (We omitted this, but Melissa bets it would be great!)
Handful torn cilantro, to taste
2 tsp hot sauce
Juice of 1 lime
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp ground cumin
1/2 tsp ground chili powder
Salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:

  1. Cook your corn according to package directions. If using fresh, boil for 6-8 minutes until cooked through.
  2. Toss all ingredients in a serving bowl and combine. Allow to sit for at least 15 minutes to allow flavors to meld. Serve and enjoy!

Source: The Comfort of Cooking

2 responses to “Black Bean, Corn and Mango Salad

  1. This looks yummy and I also think I may be a mexican at heart, I could seriously eat mexican food everyday- no joke! I just put away a ton of corn and I think I will have to pull some back out to make this!

    • Yes! Your corn looked amazing! I can’t believe how much you got! We stopped at a road side stand yesterday and got a few ears so I’m going to try my hand at grilling it and saving what we don’t eat by freezing it your way.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 134 other followers

