Kids in the Sink

Healthy No-Bake Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Balls

on April 26, 2012

This post is going to make you think I, Melissa, am I mean person and possibly a horrible friend. I am so NOT! But ok, here goes. Heather is afraid of spiders. That might be a bit of an understatement. Or the understatement of the century. Terrified, horrified, absolutely paralyzed with fear. The big, hairy spiders are the worst but she’s even afraid of the teeny, tiny, insignificant ones.(I, Heather, maintain that there is NO such thing as an “insignificant” spider.)

Let me say that I have never, ever, ever, ever, ever tried to put a spider on her. That would be cruel and unusual.  I have even gone as far as to kill spiders that were on her! And I can’t even tell you how many countless spiders I have murdered on her behalf.  Please, PETA, just move right along.  Do not mess with us.  This fear in my friend is the real deal.

Now, here’s where I sound like a horrible friend.  One day, early on in our friendship, she picked up a cute little metal box from my coffee table.  This box just happened to be a box with a candle in it but it had a lid on it so it wasn’t clear what it was.  Heather says, “Oh! This is cute.  What is it?”  Enter Evil Melissa.  My immediate response was, “That’s where I keep my spiders.”  Now seriously, that’s funny, right?! It’s clever! I’m clever.

Heather, though, was horrified.  She did not laugh.  She did not think it was funny.  She, instead, threw it down and probably talked about how much she hated me.  I know, I know.  I’m lucky that she’s still my friend.  Please forgive me friend, for being so insensitive to your fear.  I pray that I’ve redeemed myself.  But it was funny. Can’t you even see the humor in it at all?

The moral here is that you should be nice to your friends.  And if you aren’t, they might flinch every time you walk by with a bug you’ve just killed because they don’t all the way trust you with dead insects.  Even though it was funny.  Just sayin’…

On to the food! We made these healthy German chocolate bites before and they were good.  But these raw chocolate chip cookie dough balls are much better! And they were made with things already in my kitchen so I can pretty much make them any time.  Yes! Double yes!

The best part is that they’re so simple.  Just like the other bites we made, the base is dates and nuts.  You wouldn’t think this is a good combination but trust me, it is.  And the best part is it’s all made in the food processor and rolled up and that’s it! Super easy and delicious.

-Melissa

Healthy No-Bake Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Balls

Ingredients:

1 1/3 cup pitted dates
1/2 cup almonds
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
2 handfuls of chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Place dates, almonds, and vanilla extract into a food processor and process until everything is chopped into small bits and thoroughly combined.
  2. Put the mixture into a ziploc bag and add chocolate chips. Smash together until the chocolate chips are well incorporated and then form the mixture into one, big ball.
  3. Break off a heaping teaspoon size piece and roll into a ball. Repeat until all of the mixture has been used and enjoy guilt-free chocolate! Yay!

Source: Barely adapted from Chocolate-Covered Katie

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 136 other followers

