Kids in the Sink

Cream Cheese Chocolate Chip Cookies (Egg-free!)

on February 20, 2012

How much do you love stories that start with our trips to Sam’s Club?  A lot of our food adventures start there, believe it or not.  Like when we were there together last time, I saw a 3 pound block of cream cheese and said, “Let’s buy this and make a cheesecake!!”  That’s right, two exclamation points.  There was that much excitement about it.  I didn’t even know what cheesecake we would make or where the recipe would come from.  All I knew was that $6.87 was a darn good price for 3 pounds of cream cheese and I had a springform pan waiting at home that had only once been used.  And then this cheesecake was born.

What a creation that was! Unfortunately (or fortunately), after that cheesecake was eaten and enjoyed, there was still a pound and a half of cream cheese left.  Thankfully, an event came up that called for me to make 50 cookies and these cookies that I’ve had bookmarked for a month now shouted out my name.  The benefits were two-fold: I got to use up some of my cream cheese block and I got to make a chocolate chip cookie that was egg-free so that we could share it with you!

I doubled the recipe because I needed at least 50 cookies and I wasn’t sure how many it would make.  It made a lot. A lot, a lot.  I made them small.  Well.  I made them small for me. Typically, my cookies are gigantic.  So the size that I made these cookies was probably just more like normal size.  But since they were so small and made so many, I got to freeze some dough! These cookies froze amazingly.  Perhaps even more wonderful than warm cookies just out of the oven any time you want them, is the fact that you can eat the frozen cookie dough without worrying about the raw eggs! Eat dough! You can even share the frozen cookie dough balls with your kids! Maybe you shouldn’t but Heather did and I probably will, now that it’s occurred to me that I can.  Every child should experience that kind of joy.  Yum.

-Melissa

Cream Cheese Chocolate Chip Cookies

Makes 2-3 dozen cookies (this is the original amount, not the doubled amount)

Ingredients:

6 ounces cream cheese, softened
12 tbsp butter, melted and cooled
1 cup packed light brown sugar
½ cup granulated sugar
2 tsp vanilla extract
½ tsp baking soda
½ tsp salt
2 cups plus 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1 ½ cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 325° and spray a cookie sheet with cooking spray or line with parchment.
  2. In the bowl of your stand-mixer, cream the softened cream cheese and butter until light and fluffy. Add the vanilla and mix some more.
  3. Add the dry ingredients and mix just until incorporated.  Add chocolate chips and mix until thoroughly mixed.
  4. Roll dough into 1 to 2 inch balls and place onto prepared cookie sheets about two inches apart. Lightly press down on each ball with the palm of your hand to flatten just a little bit.  This will help them to spread out into delicious cookies in the oven.
  5. Bake for 12-15 minutes or until just starting to brown on the edges.  Let cool on cookie sheets for a couple minutes before transferring to wire rack to cool completely.

Source: Mel’s Kitchen Cafe

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 133 other followers

